You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

We inspected Chestnuts- Bognor Regis on the 1 November 2017, the inspection was unannounced. The service was last inspected in April 2015 when it was found to be good in all areas.

Chestnuts provides care and accommodation for up to six people who have learning disabilities. The service is part of the HF Trust Limited a charity that operates 70 registered services throughout England to support people with learning disabilities.

At the time of the inspection five people were living at the service. The service was based in a large detached building set within its own gardens in a rural location. One person had en-suite toilet and shower facilities. The other people shared a communal bathroom, along with a communal lounge and kitchen. The manager told us there were plans in place to make significant structural changes. The office was to be relocated and a self-contained flat developed.

The service is required to have a registered manager but there was no registered manager in post at the time of the inspection. The previous registered manager had left the service in September 2017 and a new manager had been appointed. The new manager was being well supported by the registered providers local leadership team and was due to complete a five day residential training course on their roles and responsibilities. Once this training was completed it was the intention of the manager to commence the registration process with the commission.

People told us, “[The manager] is lovely” and staff commented, “[The manager] is very conscientious, very approachable. I do not hesitate to contact her if I have a query” and “Morale is very good. It is a real team home here. Very supportive”. We saw that staff were well motivated and records showed staff had received regular supervision to support them in their roles. The new manager told us she was also well supported and able to access guidance from the provider’s local senior managers whenever necessary.

People told us they felt safe and staff understood their role in protecting people from abuse and avoidable harm. Care plans included detailed risks assessments designed to ensure people’s safety, while encouraging them to be as independent as possible. Where incidents and accidents occurred these were documented and investigated to identify any changes that could be made to improve people’s safety.

There were sufficient staff available to meet people’s needs. Two staff were on duty on the day of our inspection and staff told us, “For me yes I think there are enough staff.” People who used the service were actively involved in staff recruitment processes and records showed that all necessary pre-employment checks had been completed.

People were supported to engage with a variety of activities they enjoyed. During our inspection we saw people baking cakes, making blankets and planning model making tasks with staff and volunteers. People told us, “We played bingo last night” and “I have done a lot this week while staff commented, “People do a lot of activities, There is enough for people to do” and “We support people to do the things they enjoy”. The service had a minibus which all staff could drive and was used to enable people to attend various events in the local community.

Staff knew people well and had a good understanding of each person's individual care and support needs. New staff completed the provider’s formal induction training. Staff new to working in the care sector followed the induction standards for the care certificate. New staff were supported by more senior support staff by carrying out shadow shifts before they were permitted to provide care independently. One recently appointed staff member told us, “The training was good actually. I did a lot of shadowing. It was for something like six weeks.” There were systems in place to ensure training was regularly updated and staff told us, “I think the training is very good” and “It gets refreshed every year”.

Staff

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 January 2018

The service remains well led.