You are here

Russell Court Requires improvement

We are carrying out a review of quality at Russell Court. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 28 April 2021

About the service

Russell Court is a care home providing personal and nursing care for up to 42 people, some living with dementia, in one adapted building. The service accommodates people across two floors. At the time of the inspection on the 26 March 2021, 19 people were living there and this had reduced to 16 people by the 30 March 2021. The service plans to specialise in becoming a short-term, step down service for people discharged from hospital who are not quite well enough to return home.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

At the last inspection we had identified breaches in regulations 12, safe care and treatment and 17, good governance. We found at this inspection improvements had been made, although there were some further improvements required.

Care plans and risk assessments had been, or were in the process of being, reviewed. There was some further improvement to be made to ensure people’s assessed needs and identified risks were consistently and accurately recorded. People felt safe. Risks associate with COVID-19 were assessed and mitigated. Medicines were managed safely. Staff understood safeguarding and safeguarding concerns were referred to the local authority. Incidents and accidents were monitored for future learning. There were enough staff on duty to meet people’s needs and recruitment processes were in place to safely recruit staff.

Staff felt supported by the new management team and the running of the home had improved since its last inspection. Staff had started to receive supervision to help them in their roles and training had been completed or in the process of being arranged for them. We found there was good communication with healthcare agencies.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People told us they were offered a choice of meals and drinks. We saw any changes to people’s dietary requirements had been promptly referred to the GP or dietician. There were no concerns raised about the home environment.

We saw kind and caring staff interactions with people. This was supported with the compliments we saw the service had received. People told us staff respected their wishes and choices and had ensured their dignity independence was promoted.

Complaints processes had been improved to make sure feedback was used to learn from and to help improve the quality of the service. The service had processes in place to support people, who were deemed to be at the end of their life, with a dignified and respectful death.

Everyone spoken with said the new manager had improved the service's communication and systems were in place to gather their feedback to help improve the quality of the service and to help inform person-centred care. The provider understood their regulatory responsibilities.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Rating at last inspection and update:

The last rating for this service was inadequate (published 06 January 2021 and update published ?? April 2021) and there were breaches of regulation. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

This service has been in Special Measures since January 2021. During this inspection the provider demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

Why we inspected

This inspection was carried out to follow up on action we told the provider to take at the last inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 28 April 2021

The service was not always safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 April 2021

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 April 2021

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 April 2021

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 28 April 2021

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.