You are here

Archived: A-Best Nursing and Care Limited Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

This inspection was carried out over two days on the 27 and 30 September 2016. We gave the provider 48 hours’ notice of our visit on 27 September to make sure they or the registered manager was available to assist us with the inspection process and to provide us with access to records. On 30 September we conducted telephone calls to staff working for the agency and people using the services of the agency. The inspection team consisted of one adult social care inspector.

We last inspected A-Best Nursing and Care Limited on 23 April 2014. At that inspection we found the service was meeting the regulations we assessed.

At the time of our inspection there was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

A-Best Nursing and Care Limited provides care and support to people living in their own homes.

Prior to our inspection we reviewed the information we held about the service. We reviewed the previous inspection report and the Provider Information Return (PIR) that the provider had completed March 2016. This is a document that asks the provider to give some key information about the service, what the service does well and any improvements they plan to make. We also checked to see if the service had sent us any notifications in relation to significant events, including safeguarding and serious injury matters. None had been received since the last inspection had taken place in April 2014.

People were protected from harm and abuse due to the arrangements in place to make sure risks to people that used the service was reduced. Risk assessments had been completed and put in place to help people and staff to reduce and manage any known risks.

Staff had been appropriately recruited and there were sufficient staff at the time of this inspection to meet people’s individual needs. We found staff worked flexibly to respond to any changes in a person’s needs.

We saw records to indicate training that staff had completed and our conversations with the staff we spoke with confirmed this. People who used the service also told us they felt staff had the right abilities and skills to provide them with a service at a time that was right for them.

People using the service told us that the registered manager and provider regularly visited them at home to speak with them about their service, check records and carry out ‘spot checks’ on staffs delivery of their service.

We found that some information supplied to people such as the service user guide was incorrect and needed reviewing and updating in parts. The provider confirmed that this would be done.

Staff told us the registered manager and provider was approachable and listened to them. They also told us that they felt supported to carry out their job roles effectively and received verbal supervision on a regular basis.

No person using the service or staff spoken with raised any concerns about the service or its management.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

The service was safe.

Staff spoken with confirmed they had received relevant information and training to help them prompt / administer medicines to people safely. Records seen confirmed this.

We saw records that indicated the recruitment practice was safe and thorough.

People were kept safe because sufficient numbers of staff were available to meet people�s assessed needs.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

The service was effective.

Choices made by people were respected and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.

Staff received training to enable them to provide support and meet people�s needs effectively.

Staff confirmed they received regular supervision and appraisal. They also confirmed that unannounced observations of their practice were carried out by the registered manager to make sure they were competent.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

The service was caring.

People using the service told us they received support from staff that delivered their care on a consistent basis.

People were supported to make choices and to be involved in aspects of their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

The service was responsive.

Feedback was sought from people who used the service to monitor and improve the quality of care provided.

People confirmed that visiting staff were responsive in meeting their needs.

People were aware of the complaints procedure and the people we spoke with told us they had had no cause to raise a complaint.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 October 2016

The service had a manager registered with the Care Quality Commission.

Staff and people using the service spoke positively about the management of the service.

There were processes in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service.

No concerns had been raised by local authorities using the services of A-Best Nursing and Care Limited.