You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have not inspected this service yet

Inspection summaries and ratings from previous provider


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 1 February 2020

About the service

Earlfield Lodge is a residential care home providing accommodation and personal care to older people, some of whom are living with dementia. The service can support up to 72 people. There were 52 people living at the service at the time of the inspection.

The service provides period accommodation in several adjoining premises. The service is over five floors. There are four areas to the service Bluebell, Lilly, Poppy and Buttercup. There is access to a garden and patio area.

At the time of the inspection the service had an additional seven beds registered in the adjacent property. There was no one living in this building and no service was operating from this site.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People received unsafe care as the service had not made improvements or met legal requirements. In areas such as risk management, medicines, recruitment and staffing. Issues previously identified and highlighted had not always been addressed. The systems to monitor and oversee the safety and quality of the service were not effective. This put people at risk as improvements were not made in areas required.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was Inadequate (published 29 October 2019). There were five breaches of regulations identified and a recommendation made. Previous to this, the service had been rated requires improvement for the last four consecutive comprehensive inspections (published 12 August 2015, 17 November 2016, 12 January 2018, 15 September 2018).

At this inspection not enough improvement had been made and the provider was still in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 5, 6 and 12 September 2019. Breaches of legal requirements were found in regulation 12, 13, 17, 18 and 19 and a recommendation was made in relation to end of life care planning.

We undertook this focused inspection to check their action plan had been followed, improvements were in progress and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions of Safe and Well-led.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those Key Questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service remained the same and is inadequate. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Earlfield Lodge on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Enforcement

We have identified four continued breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 in regulation 12; safe care and treatment, regulation 18; staffing, regulation 19; fit and proper persons employed and regulation 17; good governance.

At the last inspection a recommendation in the Responsive domain was made in end of life care planning. This domain was not reviewed during this focused inspection.

Full information about CQC’s regulatory response to the more serious concerns found during inspections is added to reports after any representations and appeals have been concluded.

Follow Up

The overall rating for this service is ‘Inadequate’ and the service therefore remains in ‘special measures’.

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 1 February 2020

The service was not safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 29 October 2019

The service was not always effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 29 October 2019

The service was not always caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 29 October 2019

The service was not always responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 1 February 2020

The service was not well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.