You are here

Dimensions Teeside Domiciliary Care Office

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

We have not inspected this service yet

Inspection summaries and ratings at previous address


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

This inspection took place on 13 and 14 March 2018 and was announced. We gave the provider short notice of our inspection due to the nature of the service. This was so the registered manager could be available to assist us with our inspection. We contacted family members and healthcare professionals by telephone on 12, 21 and 28 March 2018.

This service provides care and support to 58 people living in various ‘supported living’ settings, so that they can live in their own home as independently as possible. All of the people supported are living with either a learning disability and/or Autism Spectrum Disorders. People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support.

The service had a manager who has been registered with CQC since January 2012. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection in November 2015, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Risk assessments contained detailed information about the steps that should be taken to reduce the risks. Also staff ensured assessments and support plans were kept up to date.

Staff had received training in safeguarding adults and the registered manager understood their responsibilities to identify and report any concerns. Safe recruitment processes were followed to ensure only suitable people were employed. We found staff had received a wide range of training, which gave them the skills and knowledge to support the people they supported.

People’s care managers determined the number of hours of support required and we noticed that for some individuals this meant that in an evening and, at times, over the weekend one staff member stayed with up to four people in a house. People told us that this could mean that to go out into town or to events everyone had to agree to go. The registered manager was aware of this difficulty and was working with care managers to resolve this.

Medicines were managed safely and people received their medicines as prescribed. We found staff appropriately supported people to access health and social care professionals, when needed.

We found that people had formed strong, caring relationships with staff who worked with them. We saw that staff treated people in a dignified and respectful manner.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives. Policies and systems in the service support this practice. Consent to care and treatment was clearly documented and appropriate authorisations were in place when people lacked capacity to make decisions.

Activities were developed around people’s interests. People were supported to maintain relationships and access the local community.

The service had a clear process for handling complaints. The registered manager was aware of the Accessible Information Standard that was introduced in 2016. The Accessible Information Standard is a law which aims to make sure people with a disability or sensory loss are given information they can understand, and the communication support they need. They told us they provided and accessed information for people that was understandable to them and ensured information was available in different formats and fonts.

Effective management systems were in place to monitor the quality of care provided and to promote people's safety and welfare.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 April 2018

The service remains good.