You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 3 July 2018

KFA Medical is an independent ambulance service based in Keighley, West Yorkshire.

We carried out an announced focused follow up inspection of this service using our comprehensive inspection methodology on 25 April 2018. All five domains were not inspected because this was a follow up inspection.

This service had been inspected on 8 November 2017. Following that inspection of the service several breaches of regulations were identified, in addition, 27 areas where the service must improve and nine areas where the service should improve were identified. In December 2017 the service voluntarily suspended carrying out regulated activity for three months to enable them to make the required improvements. The service was subject to a CQC desk top review of progress in February 2018 in relation to the breaches of regulations, the areas where the service must improve and should improve. The improvements were not completed and the service requested and we agreed to an extension of its voluntarily suspension for a further two months which concluded on 30th April.

The focus of this announced follow up inspection was in relation to the five legal requirements, 27 areas where the service must improve and nine areas where the service should improve. Following this inspection, the provider was found to be compliant in relation to the breaches identified in the previous inspection and had taken action in relation to the 27 areas where the service must improve and nine areas where the service should improve were identified.

Services we do not rate

We regulate independent ambulance services but we do not currently have a legal duty to rate them. We highlight good practice and issues that services need to improve and take regulatory action as necessary.

We also found the following areas of good practice:

  • There was clear management structure with defined areas of responsibility.
  • There was evidence of staff disclosure and barring service (DBS) checks.
  • There were records kept of when the Patient Transport Service ambulance had been cleaned which included a deep clean every 28 days.
  • There was evidence of formal internal driver training assessment carried out by the service by an independent person who was blue light trained.
  • There was evidence that administrative staff checked the driving licences of staff that drove KFA Medical vehicles via the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency.

We found the following issues that the service needed to improve:

  • There was a bin for clinical waste in the PTS ambulance but the lid could not be secured.
  • There was not a system to collect data which identified which patients had been transported to their own residence.
  • There was a business continuity plan but it had not been tested practically or through an exercise to ascertain if it was viable.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make three improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve. Details are at the end of the report.

Ellen Armistead

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals, on behalf of the Chief Inspector of Hospitals

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 3 July 2018

Effective

Updated 3 July 2018

Caring

Updated 3 July 2018

Responsive

Updated 3 July 2018

Well-led

Updated 3 July 2018

Checks on specific services

Patient transport services

Updated 3 July 2018

KFA Medical provided transport services for patients transferring from hospitals to other hospitals, to care homes and to patients' places of residence which included patients with mental ill health.

At the time of this inspection the service had not carried out any regulated activity for five months since December 2017.

We do not currently have a legal duty to rate independent ambulance services but we highlight good practice and issues that service services need to improve.

Following this inspection, we told the provider that it should make three improvements, even though a regulation had not been breached, to help the service improve.