You are here

Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service. Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

About the service

Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service provides personal care for adults with learning disabilities, or who have needs relating to their mental health, either in their own home or within supported tenancies. Supported tenancies enable people with physical or learning disabilities, or who have other care and support needs, to live in their own home. The service operates from an office in Newcastle upon Tyne. At the time of the inspection there were 23 people in receipt of a service.

Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service is not regulated to provide accommodation which meant we did not inspect people's premises.

This inspection took place on 18 August 2020, with further phone calls with relatives and external professionals on 19 and 20 August 2020.

The service had two registered managers in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The registered managers had suitable experience relevant to the needs of people who used the service.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found.

At the last inspection we found improvements were required with regard to documentation and strategies regarding people’s medicinal needs and risk assessments. These were specific to an area of the service which is now registered under a separate location with CQC. We will inspect this service separately. Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service demonstrated a strong focus on adhering to best practice regarding medicines and using positive, non-medicinal strategies to support people. The provider was therefore no longer in breach of regulations.

At the last inspection there were also concerns about the lack of governance in place. This was again specific to an area of the service which is now registered under a separate location with CQC. We will inspect this service separately. Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service was well-led, with clear accountability and governance systems in place. The provider was therefore no longer in breach of regulations.

People were respected, their individualities celebrated and goals achieved through a collaborative and inclusive approach to care and support. The service had worked flexibly and innovatively to ensure people’s wellbeing through access to regular activities and pursuits. This was during a time of social restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The service was rated requires improvement at the last inspection (published 30 April 2019). Following the inspection, the provider submitted an action plan to show what they would do and by when they would improve. At this inspection we found the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

We completed this focused inspection to make sure they had followed their action plan and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report covers our findings in relation to those two key domains: safe and well-led.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key domains not looked at during this inspection were used in calculating the overall rating for this inspection. The overall rating for the service therefore has improved to good based on the findings at this inspection.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Newcastle Learning Disabilities Service on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Caring

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 15 September 2020

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.