You are here

Complete Care Services Rossendale Good

This service was previously registered at a different address - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

This inspection took place on 8 and 9 October 2018. We gave the provider 2 days’ notice of the inspection as we needed to make sure the registered manager would be

At our last inspection on 2 March 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection

Complete Care Services (Rossendale) is a domiciliary care agency located in Rawtenstall, Lancashire. It provides personal care to people living in their own homes. It mainly provides a service to older adults. At the time of the inspection it provided care and support to 68 people.

The service had a registered manager in post. They knew the service well and were knowledgeable about their responsibilities with regard to the Health and Social Care Act 2014. They demonstrated good knowledge of the needs of the management and care staffing team.

All of the people we spoke with told us staff turned up on time to deliver care that they were scheduled to complete. We saw that staff at the office used a monitoring system so that they could see when staff had arrived at a person's home. Where staff were seen to be running late, they took action to reduce the likelihood of late calls.

The service had safeguarding and whistle-blowing procedures in place and staff had a clear understanding of these procedures. Appropriate recruitment checks took place before staff started work. Staff completed an induction when they started work and received training relevant to people’s needs.

There was enough staff available to meet people’s care and support needs. Risks to people had been assessed and reviewed regularly to ensure their needs were safely met. Medicines were managed appropriately and people were receiving their medicines as prescribed by health care professionals.

Assessments of people’s care and support needs were carried out before they started using the service. People’s care files included assessments relating to their dietary support needs. Senior staff and management staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and acted according to this legislation. People had access to health care professionals when they needed them.

Staff treated people in a caring, respectful and dignified manner. People had been consulted about their care and support needs. People were provided with appropriate information about the service. This ensured they were aware of the standard of care they should expect. People could communicate their needs effectively and could understand information in the current written format provided to them however information was available in different formats when it was required.

People received personalised care that met their needs. People were involved in planning for their care needs. They knew about the provider’s complaint's procedure and said they were confident their complaints would be listened to and acted on. Staff said they would support people according to their diverse needs. There were systems in place to provide people with end of life care and support if and when it was required. People's relatives praised the level of care that was provided to their loved ones at the end stages of their lives.

The provider recognised the importance of monitoring the quality of the service provided to people. They took people’s views into account through satisfaction surveys. Senior staff carried out spot checks to make sure people were being supported in line with their care plans. Staff said they enjoyed working at the service and they received good support from managers, the provider's representative and office staff. There was an out of hours on call system in operation that ensured management support and advice was alw

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remained good

Effective

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remained good

Caring

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remained good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remained good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

The service remained good.