You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

We have not inspected this service yet

Inspection summaries and ratings from previous provider


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

We carried out this announced inspection on the 8 and 9 January 2019. At the last inspection in June 2016, the service was rated Good in all areas. At this inspection we again found the service was Good.

Tamarisk Care Agency is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to predominantly older people living in their own homes in Hayle, West of Cornwall. At the time of our inspection the service was providing support to approximately 35 people. The service generally provides short visits at key times of the day to support people with specific tasks to enable people to continue to live in their own homes. Most people who used the service had privately commissioned this support.

People and their relatives were complementary of the service which they were happy to recommend. Their comments included, "The girls I have are absolutely lovely", "Everybody is really cheerful, they make my day", "I cannot recommend them enough" and "They are the best care agency in Hayle."

We found people were supported by carers who they knew well and got on with. Rotas included appropriate amounts of travel time for staff between consecutive care visits. Daily care records showed the service was reliable with staff normally arriving on time and providing visits of the full duration. People told us, "They are so reliable, you just know they are going to be there”, "They are very punctual, always on time" and “The patience the staff have is brilliant, they never rush my relative." While staff commented, “The rota is worked out really well, it works really smoothly” and “The visits are long enough, if you are over running regularly you mention it to the office and they will extend the visit [on the rota].”

People told us they felt safe while receiving support. Staff had completed safeguarding training and understood their role in ensuring people were protected from abuse and avoidable harm. Risks had been assessed as part of the care planning process and staff understood how to protect people from identified risks. Any accidents that occurred were fully investigated by the registered manager to identify any learning and how similar incidents could be prevented.

Staff were sufficiently skilled to meet people’s needs and there were systems in place to update training. All staff initially completed training in a variety of topics considered mandatory by the service and shadowed the deputy manager and senior carers until they felt confident to provide support independently. Staff new to the care sector had been supported to complete the care certificate. This was a nationally recognised induction training designed to ensure new staff have an understanding of current good practice. Staff told us, “The induction was really good. I went out with a mentor until I felt confident to go out on my own”, “The training is pretty good” and “All my training is up to date.”

The service’s recruitment practices were safe. All necessary pre-employment checks had been completed to ensure new staff were suitable for employment in the care sector.

Assessments of people’s needs were completed by the deputy manager before the initial care visit to ensure the service was able to meet people needs. Care plans were developed from information provided by people and their relatives during the assessments process. These documents were sufficiently detailed and provided staff with the guidance they needed to know to meet people’s needs. Staff told us, “The care plans are set out really well and we know what to do” and “The care plans are very good, very informative. Every little detail is in them.”

The registered manager had a good understanding of Mental Capacity Act 2005(MCA). There were systems in place to support people to make decisions independently and where this was not possible the service had consistently acted in people’s best interests.

The service was led by a registered manager who was based in the service full time. The manager was supported b

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 February 2019

The service remains good.