You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 20 August 2015

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 09 July 2015 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The Eledent Clinic is located in the London Borough of Sutton. The premises consist of three treatment rooms, a dedicated decontamination room, waiting room with reception area and toilet.

The practice provides private dental services and treats both adults and children. The practice offers a range of dental services including routine examinations and treatment, veneers, crowns and bridges, and oral hygiene.

The staff structure of the practice is comprised of three principal dentists (who are also the owners), two associates, three trainee dental nurses and one receptionist. The dental nurses also act as receptionists and one of the principal dentists works as the practice manager. The practice also works with a visiting dentist who provides complex periodontal (gum) treatment and a medical anaesthetist who provides conscious sedation for patients who are nervous about their dental treatment or who require complex oral surgical procedures.

The practice is open Monday to Friday from 8.00am to 8.00pm and on Saturday from 8.00am to 1.00pm.

This is a new practice which registered with the CQC in April 2013. It has not previously been inspected. One of the principal dentists is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

We carried out an announced, comprehensive inspection on 09 July 2015. The inspection took place over one day and was carried out by a CQC inspector and dentist specialist advisor.

49 people provided feedback about the service. Patients we spoke with, and those who completed comment cards, were positive about the care they received from the practice. They were complimentary about the friendly and patient attitude of the dental staff.

Our key findings were:

  • Patients’ needs were assessed and care was planned in line with best practice guidance such as from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).

  • There were effective systems in place to reduce and minimise the risk and spread of infection.

  • Equipment, such as the air compressor, autoclave (steriliser), fire extinguishers, and X-ray equipment had all been checked for effectiveness and had been regularly serviced.

  • The practice had effective safeguarding processes in place and staff understood their responsibilities for safeguarding adults and children living in vulnerable circumstances.

  • Staff reported incidents and kept records of these which the practice used for shared learning.

  • Patients indicated that they felt they were listened to and that they received good care from a helpful and patient practice team.

  • The practice ensured staff maintained the necessary skills and competence to support the needs of patients.

  • The practice had implemented clear procedures for managing comments, concerns or complaints.

  • The principal dentists had a clear vision for the practice and staff told us they were well supported by the management team.

  • Governance arrangements and audits were effective in improving the quality and safety of the services.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 20 August 2015

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had systems and protocols which were effectively used to minimise the risks associated with providing dental services. There was a safeguarding lead and staff understood their responsibilities in terms of identifying and reporting any potential abuse. There were systems for identifying, investigating and learning from incidents relating to the safety of patients and staff members. The practice had policies and protocols, which staff were following, for the management of infection control, medical emergencies and dental radiography. We found the equipment used in the practice was well maintained and checked for effectiveness.

Effective

No action required

Updated 20 August 2015

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice provided evidence-based care in accordance with relevant, published guidance, for example, from the General Dental Council (GDC). The practice monitored patients’ oral health and gave appropriate health promotion advice. Staff explained treatment options to ensure that patients could make informed decisions about any treatment. The practice worked well with other providers and followed up on the outcomes of referrals made to other providers. Staff engaged in continuous professional development (CPD) and were meeting the training requirements of the GDC.

Caring

No action required

Updated 20 August 2015

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We received positive feedback from patients through comment cards and discussions on the day of the inspection. They felt that the staff were patient and caring; they told us that they were treated with dignity and respect at all times. We found that patient records were stored securely and patient confidentiality was well maintained.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 20 August 2015

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Patients had good access to appointments, including emergency appointments, which were available on the same day. The needs of people with disabilities had been considered and there was level access to the waiting area and treatment rooms. Patients were invited to provide feedback via a satisfaction survey and a feedback box situated in the waiting area.

There was a complaints policy which was displayed in the waiting area. Four, verbal complaints had been received by the practice in the past year. These had been dealt with promptly and handled appropriately.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 20 August 2015

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had good clinical governance and risk management protocols in place. These were disseminated effectively to all members of staff. A system of audits was used to monitor and improve performance. For example, one of the principal dentists had carried out a peer review of the other dentists’ work to ensure that high quality care was being delivered.

Staff described an open and transparent culture where they were comfortable raising and discussing concerns with the principal dentists. Feedback from staff and patients was used to monitor and drive improvement in standards of care.