You are here

Acorn Lodge Residential Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

This inspection visit took place on 07 March 2018 and was unannounced. Acorn Lodge provides care for up to ten people with enduring mental health needs. Support is available through local community mental health services. It offers long term accommodation in a domestic dwelling within a residential area of Blackpool. Communal areas include a dining room and lounges. Access to the home requires people to be mobile without the need for mobility aids as there is no lift. At the time of the inspection visit there were ten people who lived there.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection in November 2015, the service was rated ‘Good’. At this inspection we found evidence continued to support the rating of ‘Good’. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At the last inspection we recommended people were kept safe by ensuring master keys to enter the home and bedrooms were available to staff in cases of emergencies to keep people safe. Also staff had sufficient information in care documentation for people who had behaviour that challenged. At this inspection we found they had addressed the issues.

People commented staff had a kind and caring attitude. One person told us, “In all the homes I’ve been in, the staff here are by far the best, they really care.” People said they were fully involved in their care planning and able to explore their mental, physical and social needs with experienced staff.

We spoke with people who lived at Acorn Lodge and a visiting health professional and comments were positive in relation to care and support provided by the staff team. One person who lived at the home said, “The staff are great they are so kind, helpful and caring.”

We found staff were aware of treating people as individuals with importance placed on promoting independence, dignity and respect. People who lived at the home confirmed staff treated them as individuals and delivered person centred care.

The registered manager had systems in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. The layout of Acorn Lodge and facilities provided were appropriate for the care and support provided.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

People told us they had regular health care visits. Staff we spoke with said any changes in health were managed in a timely manner and care records updated. Care plans we looked at confirmed this.

People who lived at Acorn Lodge were offered a choice of nutritious meals and snacks, they told us they enjoyed their food. Care records we saw included a dietary requirements document, this provided information about special diets, medical conditions such as diabetes and food preferences. One person said about the quality of meals, “Yes since I have come here the food has been plenty and good.”

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service has improved to good.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains good.