You are here

London Homecare Ltd Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 October 2020

About the service

This service is a domiciliary care agency and is based in the London Borough of Havering. The service provides personal care to adults in their own homes. Not everyone who used the service received personal care. CQC only inspects where people receive personal care. This is help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also consider any wider social care provided.

At the time of our inspection, the service provided personal care to six people.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

At our previous inspection of this service on 7 February 2020, we found risk assessments were not robust and did not identify risks to people around their health conditions. Robust pre-employment checks had not been carried out when recruiting staff. At this inspection, we found improvements had been made. People’s risks were assessed, control measures were in place to mitigate risks and pre-employment checks were carried out robustly.

At the previous inspection, we found mental capacity assessments were not being completed for people that may not have capacity to make specific decisions. Consent had not been sought from people prior to delivering support and care. At this inspection, we found people were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

At the previous inspection, we found effective quality assurance systems were not in place to identify the shortfalls we found during the inspection. At this inspection, improvements had been made and there were effective quality assurance systems in place, which included auditing risk assessments and consent forms.

The registered manager had completed spot checks on people using the service. There were systems in place to ensure ongoing spot checks were completed and recorded regularly.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection

The previous rating for this service was requires improvement (published 20 March 2020) and there were multiple breaches of regulation. We issued a warning notice for a breach of Regulation 17 (Good Governance). There were also requirement notices issued for Regulation 11 (Need for consent), Regulation 12 (Safe care and treatment) and Regulation 19 (Fit and proper persons) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection, enough improvement had been made and the service was compliant with the warning notice and requirement notices issued.

Why we inspected

We undertook this targeted inspection to check whether the warning and requirement notices we previously served had been met. The overall rating for the service has not changed following this targeted inspection and remains requires improvement.

CQC have introduced targeted inspections to follow up on warning and requirement notices. They do not look at an entire key question, only the part of the key question we are specifically concerned about. Targeted inspections do not change the rating from the previous inspection. This is because they do not assess all areas of a key question.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 October 2020

At our last inspection, we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 15 October 2020

At our last inspection, we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 15 October 2020

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 15 October 2020

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 15 October 2020

At our last inspection, we rated this key question requires improvement. We have not reviewed the rating at this inspection. This is because we only looked at the parts of this key question we had specific concerns about.

Details are in our well-led findings below.