You are here

Listen to an audio version of the report from our inspection on 2 January 2020, which was published on 20 February 2020. Listen to the report.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

About the service

Acorn Community Care is a supported living service providing personal care to adults living with a learning disability and/or autistic spectrum disorder. The service was supporting seven people at the time of our inspection.

People lived in their own homes, either on their own or in a shared house for up to three people in and around the local area. People had support overnight. Staff had access to an on-call service 24 hours a day in the event of an emergency or unplanned situation.

The service has been developed and designed in line with the principles and values that underpin Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. This ensures that people who use the service can live as full a life as possible and achieve the best possible outcomes. The principles reflect the need for people with learning disabilities and/or autism to live meaningful lives that include control, choice, and independence. People using the service receive planned and co-ordinated person-centred support that is appropriate and inclusive for them.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

The provider had undergone change since the last inspection. A new registered manager and management team were working to improve systems for maintaining quality and safety across the service. A new system of audits had been developed to help monitor quality. Staff shared a commitment to providing high quality care to people. The provider was looking at ways to gather people’s views to drive further improvement.

People felt safe with the staff supporting them. Staff were safely recruited and trained to use medicines safely as prescribed. Accidents and incidents provided opportunities for staff to reflect on their practice and were used to support improvements across the service.

People received effective support from staff, who were skilled and familiar with their needs. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. We have made a recommendation about record keeping for mental capacity assessments and best interest decisions.

The outcomes for people using the service reflected the principles and values of Registering the Right Support by promoting choice and control, independence and inclusion. People's support focused on them having as many opportunities as possible for them to gain new skills and become more independent.

People and their relatives praised the caring approach by staff and felt confident in their care. Staff were aware of people’s emotional needs and provided support.

People’s care was person-centred and provided in flexible ways to adapt to their preferences. People were encouraged to pursue their interests and try new activities. People had opportunities to form new friendships and maintain their relationships with family members.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 01 January 2019). The provider had completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 February 2020

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.