You are here

Archived: Highfields Good

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

This inspection took place on 9 August 2016 and was unannounced. We contacted the carers who worked for the service on 12 and 19 August 2016.

Highfields Shared Lives is a shared lives placement service, which recruits and supports paid carers to provide family based placements for adults with learning disabilities within the carer’s home. Placements can be long-term with the adult living with the carer as part of their family, or as respite care which can range from a few hours a week, overnight or longer stays. On some occasions the service can provide an emergency service offering placements to people who find themselves in a crisis situation. At the time of our inspection there were over 90 people referred to the scheme and there were 73 carers.

At the last inspection 22 November 2013 we found the registered provider had met the regulatory requirements.

At the time of our inspection the service had moved locations and was in the process of registering the new location. A new manager had been appointed and they had submitted their application to become a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Carers we spoke to were very positive about the service. They felt they were well supported by the Shared Lives team. We found they had undergone a robust selection procedure and had been approved by a panel before they could commence providing care for a person referred to the scheme.

People had in place Service User Plans and Risk Assessments (SUPRAs) which described their needs and how these were to be met. SUPRA’s covered issues such as people’s physical and mental health, people’s communication styles and road safety issues. Carers were able to tell us about the content of people’s plans and they demonstrated they knew people well.

Relatives and carers told us they felt safe in the service. We saw carers had received training in safeguarding issues. They were aware of the risks to people and knew what actions to take to keep people safe.

Carer were familiar with people’s medicines and were able to describe to us the arrangements for giving people their medicines in line with their care plan.

We saw carers had received training in first aid. Carers told us they had also received training from a variety of other professionals to meet people’s needs. The manager told us bespoke training was arranged for each carer to ensure carers were able to meet people’s needs.

Carers had been given guidance and support regarding people’s eating and drinking needs, food to avoid and when to encourage a healthy diet and monitor people’s alcohol intake. This meant carer’s were aware of people’s nutritional needs.

We saw people accessed a range of activities including day centre attendance, local swimming and leisure facilities, horse riding as well as local facilities for example parks and gardens. Carers took people on holidays.

We found the service was caring. Carers spoke to us with warmth and affection about the people they cared for. We also found carers were able to support people to try new things irrespective of their disability.

The service adhered to the Mental Capacity Act and ensured people’s capacity was assessed to make decisions. We found relatives, carers and other professionals were involved in making decisions in people’s best interests.

The staff team were complimentary about the manager. They felt the manager was supporting the team to make progress them in the right direction. Since coming into post the manager had made a number of changes to the service to ensure systems in place were streamlined and worked together. They had ensured they had seen people’s care plans and signed them off.

The service ha

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

The service was safe.

Safeguarding adults� policies and procedures were in place and all the carers we spoke to confirmed they had completed safeguarding training.

People had risk assessments that were regularly reviewed by staff. The carers we spoke to were aware of risks and what actions were needed to prevent accidents from occurring.

The service had appropriate recruitment procedures in place for carers.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

The service was effective.

Carers told us they felt they had appropriate training and support to carry out their role.

Carers received three monthly visits to monitor their practice and to check on their required support levels. They also had an annual review.

Carers were aware of people�s dietary requirements and what was required to ensure people remained healthy

Caring

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

The service was caring.

Support plans included information on people's personal history and their need. This enabled staff to understand the background of the person they were supporting.

Some of the carers told us they had supported people since they were children and they valued this scheme because it enabled them to continue to care for people who had become a part of their family.

People using the service had a voice and were able with the support of advocates or people acting on their behalf were able to be involved in and contribute to decisions which affected them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

The service was responsive.

The service was responsive. The support plans and risk assessments were reviewed annually or if any changes to the person's support needs or to the placement were identified.

Carers told us if they had an issue they wanted to discuss with their support worker and their worker was not available they found any member of the team was willing to offer support to them.

Carers knew how to complain but said they had not had reason to do so.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 October 2016

The service was well-led.

Since coming into post the manager had reviewed the practice of the team and put in place changes to ensure the team was better prepared going forward to make improvements.

The service had clear networks in place which supported the carers employed by the service.

Annual reviews on carers were carried out by the Shared Lives staff team to ensure they were able to meet the requirements of the service