You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This practice is rated as Good overall.

At our previous inspection in August 2016 the practice had an overall rating as Good.

Following the March 2018 inspection, the key questions are rated as:

  • Are services safe? – Good

  • Are services effective? – Good

  • Are services caring? – Good

  • Are services responsive? – Good

  • Are services well-led? - Good

As part of our inspection process, we also look at the quality of care for specific population groups. The population groups are rated as:

  • Older People – Good

  • People with long-term conditions – Good

  • Families, children and young people – Good

  • Working age people (including those recently retired and students – Good

  • People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable – Good

  • People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) - Good

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Montgomery-House Surgery in Bicester, Oxfordshire on 6 March 2018. We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether Montgomery-House Surgery was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice had clear systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen and any notable events either positive or negative were learned from.
  • The practice had defined and embedded systems, processes and practices to minimise risks to patient safety.
  • Staff had received training appropriate to their roles and the population the practice served. Any further training needs had been identified and planned.
  • Our findings showed that systems were in place to ensure that all clinicians were up to date with both National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) guidelines and other locally agreed guidelines.
  • Patients ongoing care needs were assessed, monitored and managed, including planned reviews of their needs.
  • We received positive feedback from patients regarding staff, care and treatment.
  • Services were reviewed to make improvements, such as increasing online access to clinical support and appointment booking.
  • The practice learned lessons from individual concerns and complaints and also from analysis of trends.
  • The practice had clear and visible clinical and managerial leadership and supporting governance arrangements.
  • There was an open and supportive culture among the staff group.

There were areas the provider should make improvements:

  • Continue to review and embed the amended systems for ensuring all actions regarding medicine reviews and medicine alerts are completed.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 29 March 2018