You are here

Needham Market Country Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

This practice is rated as Good overall. At the previous Care Quality Commission (CQC) inspection in February 2016, the practice received requires improvement overall. A further inspection was completed in January 2017, where the practice remained rated as requires improvement.

Our announced comprehensive inspection on 8 May 2017 was undertaken to ensure that improvements had been made following our inspections carried out in February 2016 and January 2017, the practice received a good rating overall.

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Needham Market County Practice on 26 March 2018 as part of our inspection programme.

The key questions are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Requires Improvement

Are services well-led? - Good

As part of our inspection process, we also look at the quality of care for specific population groups. The population groups are rated as:

Older People – Good

People with long-term conditions – Good

Families, children and young people – Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students – Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable – Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) – Good

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice routinely reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care it provided through clinical audit. It ensured that care and treatment was delivered according to evidence- based guidelines.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework showed patient outcomes in many areas were above the national averages. To ensure this was managed well, the practice had increased clinical oversight into reviewing, improving, and monitoring their performance.

  • All patients had a named GP who took responsibility for their care. The practice prioritised continuity of care and patients were encouraged whenever possible to see their named GP

  • Staff told us they were happy to work at the practice and felt supported by the management team. Staff told us they were encouraged to raise concerns and share their views.

  • Results from the July 2017 national GP patient survey were generally in line with or above local and national averages.

  • Patients and staff told us that telephone access could be difficult and patients often attended the practice in person to book their appointments. On the day of the inspection we observed that there was a large queue of patients at the practice waiting for the practice to open. Patients that we spoke with and comment cards that we received advised us that they attended the practice in person because it is easier than attempting to access the practice by telephone. The practice had recently updated their telephone system and the practice informed us that they had plans to further develop their telephone system.

  • Information on the complaints process was available for patients at the practice and on the practice’s website. There was an effective process for responding to and investigating complaints and responses to patients were made in a timely manner. However, learning points identified were not always recorded or shared with the whole team staff.

  • The practice held various meetings including clinical and non-clinical. Minutes were taken but these did not always contain sufficient detail to ensure staff who had not been present would receive the information.

  • The practice had implemented a suite of practice specific policies and procedures which staff had read and were using. We saw a new practice intranet system was in place and this was in the process of being fully populated safely and systematically.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Review and improve the systems and processes to ensure that information and learning is shared with the whole practice team including information from complaints and significant events.

  • Improve the take up of health checks for patients with a learning disability.

  • Review and improve access for patients accessing the practice by telephone.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 May 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good