You are here

Dr de Lusignan and Partners Good Also known as Woodbridge Hill Surgery

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr de Lusignan and Partners on 5 April 2016. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the April 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr de Lusignan and Partners on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 5 July 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 5 April 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The required recruitment checks were in place for newly recruited staff.Staff specific inductions were in place.
  • Staff had completed training required by the practice including safeguarding vulnerable adults and children, fire safety, infection control and the Mental Capacity Act 2005.
  • The practice manager completed a training spreadsheet that recorded staff training dates and this was used to highlight when training needed to be refreshed.
  • Equipment had been PAT tested and clinical equipment had been calibrated. There was a system in place for recording when clinical equipment needed to be calibrated. Dates were recorded onto an electronic diary to ensure that annual testing was completed in a timely fashion.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

At our previous inspection on 5 April 2016 the practice had been rated as requires improvement for providing safe services. We found the provider had failed to ensure that staff had completed all required mandatory training, appropriate recruitment checks were not in place and the practice did not have an adequate monitoring of when clinical equipment needed to be calibrated.

At this inspection, in July 2017, we found

  • The required recruitment checks were in place for newly recruited staff.
  • Staff specific inductions were in place.
  • Staff had completed training required by the practice including safeguarding vulnerable adults and children, fire safety, infection control and the Mental Capacity Act 2005.
  • The practice manager completed a training spreadsheet that recorded staff training dates and this was used to highlight when training needed to be refreshed.
  • Equipment had been PAT tested and clinical equipment has been calibrated. There were systems in place for recording when clinical equipment needed to be calibrated. Dates were recorded onto an electronic diary to ensure that annual testing was completed in a timely fashion.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

At our previous inspection on 5 April 2016 the practice had been rated as requires improvement for providing effective services. We found the provider had failed to ensure that staff had completed training for the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

At this inspection, in July 2017, we found

  • All staff had completed the required training for the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 10 August 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns found for the safe and effective domains identified at our inspection on 5 April 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.