You are here

York House Medical Centre Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

This practice is rated as Good overall. (Previous rating October 2017 – Good)

The key questions at this inspection are rated as:

Are services responsive? – Good

We carried out an announced focused inspection at York House Medical Centre on 9 October 2018. This was to follow up on a breach of regulations identified at our previous inspection. At our previous inspection on the 2 October 2017 we found that the provider had not acted on patient feedback regarding difficulty accessing appointments or completed the practice action plan submitted to CQC following their inspection in July 2016. The details of these can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for York House Medical Centre on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice had completed their action plan and implemented changes to both the telephone and appointment systems.
  • Skill mix at the practice had been increased by employing a practice pharmacist and introducing minor illness appointment with a nurse practitioner.
  • The practice had continued to develop communication within the practice and with other stakeholders.
  • Significant events were discussed at clinical and staff meetings to ensure learning was shared appropriately.
  • The practice had reviewed the range of medicines held on site to deal with medical emergencies and introduced a new system for checking these.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Take action to review the impact of changes made in response to patient feedback about accessing care.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP
Chief Inspector of General Practice

Please refer to the detailed report and the evidence tables for further information.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

At our previous inspection on 23 August 2017, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing responsive services as responding to patient feedback in regard to providing access to care was not sufficient.

The practice had made significant changes in these arrangements when we undertook a follow up inspection on 9 October 2018. The practice is now rated as good for providing responsive services.

The practice had made a number of changes to their appointment and telephone system and the staff skill mix. However, they had not carried out any review of the changes so could not demonstrate the impact of these changes.

Responding to and meeting people’s needs

The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs. It took account of patient needs and preferences.

  • The practice understood the needs of its population and tailored services in response to those needs.
  • Telephone GP consultations and extended access appointments through the GP federation were available. This supported patients who were unable to attend the practice during normal working hours.
  • Minor illness appointments were available with a nurse practitioner.
  • The practice pharmacist was able to review the medicines of patients with a long-term condition to check their medicines needs were being appropriately met.
  • All parents or guardians calling with concerns about a child under the age of 18 were offered a same day appointment when necessary. Same day appointments were available after school times.
  • The needs of this population group had been identified and the practice had adjusted the services it offered to ensure these were accessible, flexible and offered continuity of care. For example, telephone GP consultations and extended opening hours through the GP federation.

Timely access to care and treatment

Patients were able to access care and treatment from the practice within an acceptable timescale for their needs.

  • Patients had timely access to initial assessment, test results, diagnosis and treatment.
  • Patients with the most urgent needs had their care and treatment prioritised.
  • The practices GP patient survey results were below local and national averages for questions relating to access to care and treatment. The data collected by the GP patient survey was collected during the period that the practice was making major changes to their appointment and telephone system so may not be an accurate reflection.

Please refer to the evidence tables for further information.

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 2 October 2017

The provider had resolved the breaches of regulation for safety identified at our inspection on 7 July 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.