You are here

Dr Taylor, Dr Hofmann, Dr Idowu and Dr Ghosh Good Also known as Town Medical Centre

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr Taylor, Dr Hofmann, Dr Idowu and Dr Ghosh on 15 December 2016. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The practice was rated as requires improvement for providing safe, effective and well-led services and rated as good for providing caring and responsive services. The full comprehensive report on the December 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr Taylor, Dr Hofmann, Dr Idowu and Dr Ghosh on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 14 September 2017, to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements, in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 15 December 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • All staff were trained to the appropriate level in safeguarding children.
  • The practice had improved its systems and processes to assess and manage the risks of legionella and the safe management of blank prescriptions.
  • The practice carried out the necessary recruitment checks prior to employing staff.
  • The practice had adequate equipment and staff were now appropriately trained to respond to medical and other emergencies.
  • There was an induction programme for newly appointed staff and an overall training schedule that ensured staff received training appropriate to their roles. There was an effective system that ensured all staff received annual appraisals.
  • The practice’s patient administration systems included only current staff.
  • The practice was investigating improvements to the telephone access system for patients.
  • There were effective arrangements to monitor and improve quality and identify risk.

We found one area where the provider should make improvement:

  • The number of carers identified on the practice’s system was 10, which was less than 1% of the patient list. The provider should implement a pro-active system that identifies patients who are also carers to help ensure they are offered relevant additional support.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

  • Since our inspection in December 2016, the practice had ensured that all staff were trained to the appropriate level in safeguarding children and infection control, and that regular fire drills were carried out.
  • The practice had systems and processes to assess and manage the risks of legionella infection.
  • They had implemented effective systems and processes to ensure the safe use of blank prescription pads and forms.
  • The practice carried out the necessary recruitment checks prior to employing staff.
  • The practice had adequate equipment to respond to medical emergencies and staff had been trained in basic life support.

Effective

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Since our inspection in December 2016, the practice had implemented an induction programme for newly appointed staff.
  • There was an overall training schedule for the practice that ensured staff received training appropriate to their roles.
  • The practice had implemented a system that ensured all staff received annual appraisals.
  • The practice’s patient administration systems included only current staff.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

  • Since our inspection in December 2016 the practice had improved its arrangements to monitor and improve quality and identify and manage risk. 
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 12 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for providing safe, effective and well-led care identified at our inspection on 15 December 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.