You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Enfield Island Surgery. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Enfield Island Surgery on 20 July 2016. The overall rating for the practice was good, however the practice was rated as requires improvement for providing a safe service. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 26 September 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 20 July 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had a defibrillator in place. We saw evidence of a maintenance log to ensure that it was working and fit for purpose. All staff had received training and the use of the defibrillator had been included in the updated practice policy and procedure for dealing with emergencies.

  • All staff had received a current Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check.

However, there were also areas of practice where the provider needs to make improvements.

The provider should:

  • Consider the installation of an induction loop.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing a safe service.

  • The practice had a defibrillator in place. We saw evidence of a maintenance log to ensure that it was working and fit for purpose. All staff had received training and the use of the defibrillator had been included in the updated practice policy and procedure for dealing with emergencies.

  • All staff had received a current Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

  • Data from the Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) showed patient outcomes were generally comparable to the CCG and the national average.
  • Staff assessed needs and delivered care in line with current evidence based guidance.
  • Clinical audits demonstrated quality improvement.
  • Staff had the skills, knowledge and experience to deliver effective care and treatment.
  • There was evidence of appraisals and personal development plans for most staff.
  • Staff worked with other health care professionals to understand and meet the range and complexity of patients’ needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the national GP patient survey showed patients rated the practice higher than others for some aspects of care.
  • Patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were generally involved in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.
  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Practice staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with the NHS England Area Team and Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified.
  • Patients said they found it easy to make an appointment with a named GP and there was continuity of care, with urgent appointments available the same day.
  • The practice had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs; however, the practice did not have a working defibrillator.
  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 31 March 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The practice had a clear vision and strategy to deliver high quality care and promote good outcomes for patients. Staff were clear about the vision and their responsibilities in relation to it.
  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The practice had a number of policies and procedures to govern activity and held regular governance meetings.
  • There was an overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This included arrangements to monitor and improve quality.
  • The provider was aware of and complied with the requirements of the duty of candour. The partners encouraged a culture of openness and honesty. The practice had systems in place for notifiable safety incidents and ensured this information was shared with staff to ensure appropriate action was taken.
  • The practice proactively sought feedback from staff and patients, which it acted on. The practice had a virtual patient participation group (PPG) which was active and was attempting to add to its membership. The practice held biannual PPG meetings at the practice which was agreed by PPG members.
  • There was a focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Older people

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people(including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016. The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 14 November 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in July 2016.

The full comprehensive report on the July 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Enfield Island Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.