• Doctor
  • GP practice

Schoolacre Road Surgery Also known as Schoolacre Surgery

Overall: Good read more about inspection ratings

2 Schoolacre Road, Shard End, Birmingham, West Midlands, B34 6RB (0121) 747 2911

Provided and run by:
Schoolacre Road Surgery

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 18 October 2019

Schoolacre Road Surgery (also known as Schoolacre Surgery) is located at 2 Schoolacre Road, Shard End, Birmingham, West Midlands, B34 6RB.

Dr.Caterina Sterlini and Dr Annia Bangash are the registered providers, registered with CQC since April 2013 to deliver the Regulated Activities; diagnostic and screening procedures, family planning, maternity and midwifery services, surgical procedures and treatment of disease, disorder or injury.

Schoolacre Surgery is situated within Birmingham and Solihull Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and provides services to 2,914 patients under the terms of a general medical services (GMS) contract. This is a contract between general practices and NHS England for delivering services to the local community.

Practice staffing comprises of two GP partners (both female). The clinical team also includes a nurse practitioner and a health care assistant. The non-clinical team consists of a practice manager and a team of receptionists and administrators.

Schoolacre Surgery is a teaching practice providing five-week placements for year five medical students on a six-month rotational basis. At the time of our inspection, there were no medical students on placement.

The practice is open between 8.30am and 6.30pm weekly except on Tuesdays and Wednesdays when the practice is open between 8am to 6.30pm. There are Hub arrangements in place with a neighbouring practice where patients can access appointments between 6.30pm and 8pm Monday to Friday as well as Saturdays between 8.30am and 10am.

Patients are able to access video consultations by a mobile application. Patients who downloaded and registered to the application were able to access GPs who offered medical advice for symptoms which did not require a physical examination.

Schoolacre Surgery is in one of the more deprived areas of Birmingham. The practice catchment area is classed as being within one of the more deprived areas in England. The practice scored one on the deprivation measurement scale; the deprivation scale goes from one to 10, with one being the most deprived. People living in more deprived areas tend to have greater need for health services. National General Practice Profile describes the practice ethnicity as being 80% white British, 9% Asian, 5% black, 5% mixed and 1% other non-white ethnicities. The practice demographics show the average percentage of people in the 65+ to 75+ year age group were above local and national percentages. Average life expectancy is 76 years for men and 81 years for women compared to the national average of 79 and 83 years respectively. The general practice profile shows that 64% of patients registered at the practice have a long-standing health condition, compared to 50% locally and 51% nationally.

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 18 October 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Schoolacre Road Surgery on 18 September 2019 as part of our inspection programme.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We first carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Schoolacre Road Surgery in February 2015 where the practice was rated as good overall. As part of our inspection programme the practice was then inspected in February 2018 and rated as requires improvement overall. We issued requirement notices as legal requirements were not being met and asked the provider to send us a report to tell us what actions they were going to take to meet legal requirements. We then carried out an announced comprehensive inspection in September 2018 to check whether the providers had taken action to meet the legal requirement’s’ as set out in the requirement notices. The full comprehensive report of our previous inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Schoolacre Road Surgery on our website at .

This inspection was an announced comprehensive inspection carried out on 18 September 2019 to check whether the providers had taken action to meet the legal requirement’s’ as set out in the requirement notices. The report covers our findings in relation to all five key questions and related population groups.

We have rated this practice as good overall and good for all population groups.

We found that:

  • The practice provided care in a way that kept patients safe and protected them from avoidable harm.
  • Patients received effective care and treatment that met their needs. The practice demonstrated awareness of their Quality Outcomes Framework performance and took action to improve the management of patients’ clinical care. At the time of our inspection, unpublished data from the 2018/19 QOF year demonstrated improvements.
  • Staff dealt with patients with kindness, respect and involved them in decisions about their care. National GP survey results were mainly above local and national averages.
  • Completed Care Quality Commission comment cards were positive as well as feedback from the Patient Participation Group (PPG). During our inspection, PPG members described the practice as a traditional family orientated practice which is deep rooted in the community with a long history of treating a generation of family members.
  • The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs. Patients could access care and treatment in a timely way.
  • The way the practice was led and managed promoted the delivery of high-quality, person-centre care. Since our September 2018 inspection, the management team reviewed and strengthened their governance framework and we saw this had a positive impact on service delivery.

Whilst we found no breaches of regulations, the provider should:

  • Continue taking action to improve the prescribing of hypnotics.
  • Continue taking action to improve the uptake of childhood immunisations and national screening programmes such as cervical screening.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care