You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

When we visited The Red Practice on 9 August 2016,

to carry out a comprehensive inspection, we rated them as requires improvement overall.

 We rated them as good for the provision

of caring and well-led services, and requires improvement for the provision of

safe, effective and responsive services. 

Following this inspection we told the practice they must:

  • Ensure infection control

    measures, including cleaning systems are maintained and the infection control action

    plan is fully implemented.

  • Ensure that all staff have received the

    training, as required in order to undertake their role.

  • Ensure that recruitment records are complete

    and include proof of identity.

  • Ensure all staff who have unsupervised access

    to patients have been subject to a

    Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check.

  • Review the appraisal system in order to

    ensure all staff have had an appraisal and the records of these are maintained

    on file.

  • Review and take steps to improve patient

    telephone access to the service.

This inspection was an announced focused follow

up inspection carried out on 28 July 2017. Its purpose was to confirm that the

practice had carried out their action plan to meet the legal requirements in

relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified at our previous

inspection. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

This report should be read in conjunction with the full report of our

inspection on 9 August 2016, which can be found on our website at

www.cqc.org.uk

.  

Please note that since our last inspection the practice has changed their

name to The Red Practice. Previously the practice was called Dr Sillick and

Partners.

The practice is now rated as good for the

provision of safe, effective and responsive services. Overall the practice is

now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • All staff who had unsupervised access to patients had been subject to a

    DBS check.

  • The practice was concerned about the standard

    of the cleaning service that was being provided by the building owners. We saw

    evidence the practice had taken appropriate steps to resolve the issue.

  • Clinical staff told us they always checked treatment

    rooms prior to using them and ensured the rooms were fit for purpose.

  • All staff had  undertaken the essential training required in

    order to undertake their duties in line with their role and responsibilities.

  • The recruitment records of staff that had

    beenrecruited since our last inspection were complete and included proof of

    identity.  The practice had reviewed the

    records of all other staff and ensured they had proof of individuals identity

    on file.

  • All staff had, had an appraisal within the

    last 12 months and  records of these were

    maintained on file.

  • The practice had recruited an additional

    receptionist whose main role was answering and responding to telephone calls.

  • We saw data which showed patient feedback

    regarding getting access to the service had improved.  For example, 70% of patients described their

    experience of making an appointment as good compared with the clinical

    commissioning group average of 70% and the national average of 73%. This was a

    significant improvement from the previous year’s survey when this area scored

    59%.

However, there were areas of practice where

the provider should make improvements.   The provider should:

  • Continue to take action to resolve their

    concerns about the cleaning service they receive and ensure an adequate

    standard is maintained on a day by day basis.

  • Continue to monitor, review and take steps to

    improve patient telephone access to the service.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

When we visited The Red

Practice, (formally known as Dr Sillick and Partners) on 9 August 2016 to carry

out a comprehensive inspection we rated them as requires improvement for the

provision of safe services. We found breaches in the regulation relating to

safe care and treatment.

We undertook this

focused follow up inspection of the practice on the 28 July 2017 in order to

review the actions they had taken to improve the quality of care and to confirm

that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

We found the practice

had made improvements and was now meeting the legal requirements in the areas

they had previous breached. Specifically at this inspection we found:

  • All staff who had unsupervised access to patients had been subject to a Disclosure

    and Barring Service (DBS) check. (DBS checks identify whether a person has a

    criminal record or is on an official list of people barred from working in

    roles where they may have contact with children or adults who may be

    vulnerable).

  • The recruitment records of staff 

    that had been recruited since our last inspection were complete and

    included proof of identity.  The practice

    had reviewed the records of all other staff and ensured they had proof of their

    identity on file.

  • The practice was concerned about the standard of the cleaning service

    that was being provided by the organisation that owned the building. This

    organisation was also responsible for its cleaning and maintenance.  We saw evidence the practice had made a

    formal complaint to the owners about the cleaning service and had been engaging

    with them and the cleaning service on a regular basis to try and resolve the

    issues.

  • We discussed the cleaning issues with clinical staff who said they

    always checked the room they were using prior to a clinic and ensured it was

    fit for purpose.  All the clinical and

    management staff we spoke with demonstrated a commitment to ensure the

    appropriate standard was maintained. 

The service is now rated as good for providing safe

services.  

Effective

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

When we visited The Red Practice on 9 August

2016 to carry out a comprehensive inspection we rated them as requires

improvement for the provision of effective services.

We found breaches in the regulation relating to staffing and the

employment of fit and proper persons.

We undertook this focused follow up

inspection of the practice on the 28 July 2017 to review the actions they had

taken to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now

meeting legal requirements.

We found the practice

had made improvements and was now meeting the legal requirements in the areas

they had previous breached. Specifically we found:

  • All staff had undertaken the essential training as required in order to

    undertake their duties, in line with their role and responsibilities.

  • All staff had completed an appraisal within the last 12 months and records

     of these meetings were maintained on

    file.

     

The practice is now rated as good for the

provision of effective services.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the national GP patient survey showed patients rated the practice higher than others for several aspects of care.
  • Patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.
  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

When we visited The Red Practice on 9 August

2016 to carry out a comprehensive inspection we rated them as requires

improvement for the provision of responsive services. We found breaches in the

regulation relating to good governance.

We undertook this

focused follow up inspection of the practice on the 28 July 2017 to review the

actions they had taken to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the

practice was now meeting legal requirements.

We found the practice

had made improvements and was now meeting the legal requirements in the areas

they had previous breached. Specifically we found:

  • The practice had recently purchased a new phone system which was due to

    be installed in the next few months.

  • The practice had recruited an additional receptionist whose main role

    was answering and responding to telephone calls from patients.

  • We saw data which showed patient feedback regarding getting access to

    the service had significantly improved.  For

    example, 70% of patients described their experience of making an appointment as

    good compared with the clinical commissioning group (CCG) average of 70% and

    the national average of 73%. This was a significant improvement from the

    previous year’s survey when they scored 59%.

  • In one area relating to getting access to the service the practice was

    still below the regional and national averages. 

    56% of patients said they could get through easily to the practice by

    phone compared to the CCG average of 67% and the national average of 71%. However,

    this was a significant improvement from the previous year’s survey when they

    scored 41%.

The practice is now rated as good for the

provision of responsive services.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The practice had a clear vision and strategy to deliver high quality care and promote good outcomes for patients. Staff were clear about the vision and their responsibilities in relation to it.
  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The practice had a number of policies and procedures to govern activity and held regular governance meetings.
  • There was a governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care.
  • The provider was aware of and complied with the requirements of the duty of candour. The partners encouraged a culture of openness and honesty. The practice had systems in place for notifiable safety incidents and ensured this information was shared with staff to ensure appropriate action was taken.
  • The practice had arrangements to obtain feedback from staff and patients, which it acted on. A virtual patient participation group was active.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 17 August 2017

The

provider had taken action to resolve the concerns for safe, effective and responsive

services identified at our inspection on 9 August 2016 which applied to

everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population

group ratings have been updated to reflect this.