You are here

Archived: Stow Surgery Good

This service is now registered at a different address - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Stow Surgery on 6 June 2017. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the June 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Stow Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 30 January 2018 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 6 June 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

.Overall the practice is now rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • Systems and processed had been improved to ensure the risks of infection in the practice were managed appropriately.

  • Arrangements for managing medicines in the practice had been improved to minimise risks to patient safety.

  • Arrangements to deal with emergencies and major incidents have been reviewed and implemented.

  • Systems and processes had been reviewed and implemented to ensure staff had appropriate support, competency assessments, regular appraisal and training.

  • The practice had reviewed their data in relation to patients who had been excluded from reviews and were able to provide assurance that patients were receiving appropriate reviews and monitoring.

  • Systems to ensure that standard operating procedures in the dispensary were up to date and reviewed regularly had been improved.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 2 March 2018