You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Stow Surgery on 6 June 2017. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the June 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Stow Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 30 January 2018 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 6 June 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

.Overall the practice is now rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • Systems and processed had been improved to ensure the risks of infection in the practice were managed appropriately.

  • Arrangements for managing medicines in the practice had been improved to minimise risks to patient safety.

  • Arrangements to deal with emergencies and major incidents have been reviewed and implemented.

  • Systems and processes had been reviewed and implemented to ensure staff had appropriate support, competency assessments, regular appraisal and training.

  • The practice had reviewed their data in relation to patients who had been excluded from reviews and were able to provide assurance that patients were receiving appropriate reviews and monitoring.

  • Systems to ensure that standard operating procedures in the dispensary were up to date and reviewed regularly had been improved.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the national GP patient survey showed patients rated the practice higher than others for several aspects of care.

  • Staff were motivated and inspired to offer kind and compassionate care and worked to overcome obstacles to achieving this. For example, the practice recognised that they had a higher number of elderly patients who find it easier to order repeat prescriptions over the phone. The practice had maintained this facility for all patients.

  • We found many positive examples to demonstrate how patient’s choices and preferences were valued and acted on.

  • Survey information we reviewed showed that patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.

  • Information for patients about the services available was accessible.

  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • The practice understood its population profile and had used this understanding to meet the needs of its population. For example, the practice recognised that they had a high number of elderly patients and recognised that it may cause difficulties for those patients to access their online services such as ordering repeat prescriptions. They had held information technology clinics for those patients who wish to use the online services and for a member of staff to support patients with using these.

  • The GPs recognised that local public transport service was limited and patients who are elderly and frail found it difficult to attend the practice. They therefore had a low threshold for patients who required home visits. We saw on the day of the inspection that 20 home visits had been undertaken for patients who needed these.

  • The practice took account of the needs and preferences of patients with life-limiting conditions, including patients with a condition other than cancer and patients living with dementia.

  • Patients we spoke with said they found it easy to make an appointment with a named GP, although there was sometimes a long wait for a GP of their choice, and there was continuity of care, with urgent appointments available the same day.

  • The practice facilities were limited for the needs of the population but the practice worked hard to maximise the use of the premises.

  • Information about how to complain was available and evidence from three examples reviewed showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 2 March 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 2 March 2018