You are here

Belvidere Medical Practice Outstanding

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

We carried out an announced focused inspection at Belvidere Medical Practice on 09 January 2020 due to the length of time since the last inspection. Following our review of the information available to us, including information provided by the practice, we focused our inspection on the following key questions: Safe, Effective and Well-Led. Because of the assurance received from our review of information we carried forward the ratings for the following key questions: Caring and Responsive.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • What we found when we inspected
  • Information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • Information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We previously carried out a comprehensive inspection at Belvidere Medical Practice on 2 June 2015. The overall rating was Outstanding. We rated the service as outstanding for providing caring and responsive services and good for providing safe, effective and well-led services. The report on the June 2015 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Belvidere Medical Practice on our website at .

We have rated this practice as outstanding overall and outstanding for all the population groups.

We found that:

  • The practice provided care in a way that kept patients safe and protected them from avoidable harm.
  • The practice understood the needs of its population and tailored services in response to those needs.
  • Patients received effective care and treatment that met their needs and was planned and delivered according to evidence-based guidelines.
  • Eight of the 10 quality indicators used to monitor the effectiveness of the care and treatment provided to patients were above the national average. Overall exception reporting was lower than local and national averages, meaning more patients were included.
  • There were clear responsibilities, roles and systems of accountability to support good governance and management.
  • There was an open and transparent culture within the practice.
  • Staff felt valued and supported in their work and the development of their roles.
  • Patients were highly satisfied with the with the service they received from the practice.
  • The way the practice was led and managed promoted the delivery of high-quality, person-centre care.
  • Leaders demonstrated that they had the capacity and skills to deliver high quality sustainable care. They were aware of their strengths and challenges and had taken action to address any shortfalls.
  • The practice had a clear vision and credible strategy to provide high quality sustainable care.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Consider reviewing the security of consultation rooms.
  • Ensure all staff complete essential training.
  • Formalise whole team meetings to share learning and information practice wide.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGPChief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 February 2020

Effective

Good

Updated 14 February 2020

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 February 2020

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

Families, children and young people

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

Older people

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Outstanding

Updated 14 February 2020