You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 4 March 2019

We undertook a focused inspection of Firs Dental Surgery on 14 February 2019. This inspection was carried out to review in detail the actions taken by the registered provider to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was now meeting legal requirements.

The inspection was led by a CQC inspector who was supported by a specialist dental adviser.

We undertook a comprehensive inspection of Firs Dental Surgery on 16 October 2018 under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. We found the registered provider was not providing well led care and was in breach of regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. You can read our report of that inspection by selecting the 'all reports' link for Firs dental practice on our website www.cqc.org.uk.

As part of this inspection we asked:

• Is it well-led?

When one or more of the five questions are not met we require the service to make improvements and send us an action plan (requirement notice only). We then inspect again after a reasonable interval, focusing on the area(s) where improvement was required.

Our findings were:

Are services well-led?

We found this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The provider had made improvements in relation to the regulatory breach we found at our inspection on.

Background

Firs dental surgery is in Caterham and provides NHS and private treatment for adults and children.

There is level access for people who use wheelchairs and those with pushchairs. Car parking spaces, including, blue badge holders, are available near the practice.

The dental team includes three dentists, two dental nurses, one trainee dental nurse one dental hygienist and one receptionist. The practice has three treatment rooms.

The practice is owned by a partnership and as a condition of registration must have a person registered with the Care Quality Commission as the registered manager. Registered managers have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the practice is run. The registered manager at Firs dental practice is the principal dentist. A registered manager is legally responsible for the delivery of services for which the practice is registered.

During the inspection we spoke with one dentist, one dental nurse and one receptionist. We looked at practice policies and procedures and other records about how the service is managed.

The practice is open: from Monday to Friday 08.30-17.00

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 4 March 2019

Effective

No action required

Updated 4 March 2019

Caring

No action required

Updated 4 March 2019

Responsive

No action required

Updated 4 March 2019

Well-led

No action required

Updated 4 March 2019

We found that this practice was providing well-led care and was complying with the relevant regulations. The provider had made improvements to the management of the service. This included providing additional staff time available for management and administration, establishing clear roles and responsibilities for all the practice team. The improvements provided a sound footing for the ongoing development of effective governance arrangements at the practice.