You are here

Tilehurst Surgery Partnership Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This practice is rated as Good overall.

At our previous inspection in November 2014 the practice had an overall rating as good.

The key questions are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Good

Are services well-led? - Good

As part of our inspection process, we also look at the quality of care for specific population groups. The population groups were rated as:

  • Older People – Good

  • People with long-term conditions – Good

  • Families, children and young people – Good

  • Working age people (including those recently retired and students) – Good

  • People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable – Good

  • People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) – Good

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Tilehurst Surgery in Reading, Berkshire on 7th March 2018. We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether Tilehurst Surgery was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice had clear systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen.
  • When incidents did happen, the practice learned from them and improved their processes.
  • The practice fully engaged with programmes developed in the local area to support patients' health and wellbeing in a number of different ways.
  • The practice routinely reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care it provided. It ensured that care and treatment was delivered according to evidence-based guidelines.
  • Staff involved and treated patients with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect. The practice was above average for its satisfaction scores on consultations with GPs and nurses in a number of areas.
  • Patients found the appointment system easy to use and reported that they were able to access urgent care when they needed it.
  • Services were tailored to meet the needs of individual people and delivered in a way that ensured flexibility and choice. For example, the practice worked collaboratively with other external organisations and charities.
  • There was a strong focus on mentoring, continuous learning and improvement at all levels of the organisation.
  • We received positive feedback from external stakeholders and patients who access GP services from the practice.
  • Succession planning within the practice for forthcoming retirements was well structured and co-ordinated.

We saw one area of outstanding practice:

Safeguarding adults and children: the practice had developed a focused and streamlined system, with a dedicated administrator, to process all child protection (and domestic violence and vulnerable adult) reports in a timely and consistent way. This was demonstrated by an audit carried out by the West Berkshire Child Safeguarding Lead which showed the practice’s report response rate was 93% compared with the local Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) average of 45%.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 9 April 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 9 April 2018