You are here

Dr Christopher Cole and Partners Good Also known as The Red and Green Practice

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 October 2020

We previously carried out an announced focused inspection at Dr Christopher Cole and Partners, on 28 January 2020 as part of our inspection programme to follow up on concerns and breaches of regulations following our previous inspection in December 2018. We rated the practice as Good overall, however we found a breach of regulations and rated the key area of Safe provision of services as Requires Improvement. You can read the full report by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr Christopher Cole and Partners on our website at .

We were mindful of the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on our regulatory function. This meant we took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering what type of inspection was necessary and proportionate, this was therefore a desk-based review. On 26 August 2020, we commenced the desk-based review to confirm that the practice had carried out its plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach of regulations that we identified at our previous inspection in January 2020.

We found that the practice is now meeting those requirements and we have amended the rating for this practice accordingly. The practice is now rated Good for the provision of Safe services. We previously rated the practice as Good for providing Effective, Caring, Responsive and Well-Led services.

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we reviewed the information sent to us by the provider
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider.

We have rated Safe as Good because:

  • The practice had identified and completed actions, in response areas identified as requiring improvement at our previous inspection in January 2020.
  • The practice demonstrated it had revised its Disclosure & Barring Service (DBS) procedures. We reviewed an associated risk assessment that the practice had completed for a staff member who had started employment prior to their DBS being confirmed.
  • The practice demonstrated it had revised recruitment processes, and had identified a dedicated staff member responsible for the checking identification documents, to ensure incoming staff member details were correct.
  • The practice demonstrated it had improved its security and monitoring processes of blank prescription stationery. This included comprehensive documentation of blank prescription scripts in line with national guidance, and the removal of all but two centralised printers within the practice’s sites, where blank prescription stationery was used.
  • The practice provided data to show it had increased the usage of the Electronic Prescription Service (EPS) since July 2018 from 87% to 97% by July 2020, which indicated less reliance on paper prescriptions being issued at the practice.

Although not part of the practice’s previous regulatory breach, the practice demonstrated it had also made improvements since our last inspection which included:

  • Producing a comprehensive risk assessment for its staff regarding their vaccination status.
  • Completing a hand-hygiene audit with a random selection of staff to ensure appropriate hand-hygiene measures were in place and staff were compliant with the requirements expected by the practice.
  • Identifying learning from an incident involving unpacked vaccines found at our previous inspection. The practice provided copies of delivery audit forms and vaccine stock checks to demonstrate that no further such incidences had occurred.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Older people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good