You are here

Groombridge and Hartfield Medical Group Good Also known as Drs Wolfle and James trading as

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Groombridge and Hartfield Medical Group on 8 June 2016. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the June 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Groombridge and Hartfield Medical Group on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Following this inspection the practice sent to us an action plan detailing what they would do to meet the legal requirements in relation to the following:

  • Ensuring that medicines management systems are reviewed to protect patients against the risk of unsafe care and treatment.

  • Ensuring that all safety assessments are undertaken and reviewed as required.

  • Ensuring that appropriate training for staff is completed and monitored. This includes training in respect of fire safety.

Additionally we had found that:

  • The provider needed to continue in actively identifying patients that have caring responsibilities within the patient list.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 8 February 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The provider had reviewed all aspects of medicines management and devised new standard operating procedures which all appropriate staff had received a copy of and signed to acknowledge this.

  • The provider had undertaken the assessments required for electrical installation and fire risk and acted upon the advice within these.

  • The provider had ensured all staff had undertaken fire training as required.

  • The provider had increased the number of carers identified within their list from 40 carers to 60 carers. An increase of 50%.

    Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

At our previous inspection in June 2016 the practice had been rated as requires improvement for providing safe services. Concerns related to medicine management issues within the practice.

On our inspection of 8 February 2017 we found that:

  • Controlled drugs (CDs) were handled in line with current legislation.
  • The dispensary manager had acquired the services of the Controlled Drug Liaison Officer (CDLO) from Sussex Police Service and ensured all expired controlled drugs were disposed of correctly.
  • The practice now maintained a controlled drug register in line with legislation.
  • The practice had implemented a system which enabled them to act appropriately to medicine alerts.
  • The dispensary manager had formulated a new set of standard operating procedures (SOPs), 31 in total, and disseminated these to all appropriate staff. Evidence was seen where these SOPs had been signed for by staff.
  • The practice now dispensed medicines within dosette boxes with information which gave details of the identity of the medicines which had been dispensed. This included the colour, shape and markings of the different tablets and capsules.
  • Fire drills had been undertaken and a register kept of staff included in these.
  • The practice had undertaken the required risk assessments and acted on the requirements within these.

Effective

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

At our previous inspection in June 2016 the practice had been rated as requires improvement for providing effective services. Concerns related to staff training issues.

On our inspection of 8 February 2017 we found that:

  • All staff had undertaken training in fire safety and a system was in place that alerted the practice manager when areas of mandatory training for practice staff required refreshing.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 September 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

  • Data from the national GP patient survey showed patients rated the practice higher than others for several aspects of care. For example, the percentage of respondents to the GP patient survey who described the overall experience of their GP surgery as fairly good or very good was 94% compared to the CCG average of 89% and the national average of 85%.
  • Patients said they were treated with compassion, dignity and respect and they were involved in decisions about their care and treatment.
  • Information for patients about the services available was easy to understand and accessible.
  • Both partner GPs disclosed their personal contact details to patients who were on the palliative care register to ensure these patients could make contact with a GP at any time of the day.
  • We saw staff treated patients with kindness and respect, and maintained patient and information confidentiality.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 September 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

  • Practice staff reviewed the needs of its local population and engaged with the NHS England Area Team and Clinical Commissioning Group to secure improvements to services where these were identified.
  • Patients said they found it easy to make an appointment with a named GP and there was continuity of care, with urgent appointments available the same day.
  • The practice had good facilities and was well equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.
  • Information about how to complain was available and easy to understand and evidence showed the practice responded quickly to issues raised. Learning from complaints was shared with staff and other stakeholders.

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 September 2016

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

  • The practice had a clear vision and strategy to deliver high quality care and promote good outcomes for patients. Staff were clear about the vision and their responsibilities in relation to it.
  • There was a clear leadership structure and staff felt supported by management. The practice had a number of policies and procedures to govern activity and held regular governance meetings.
  • There was an overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This included arrangements to monitor and improve quality and identify risk.
  • The provider was aware of and complied with the requirements of the duty of candour. The partners encouraged a culture of openness and honesty. The practice had systems in place for notifiable safety incidents and ensured this information was shared with staff to ensure appropriate action was taken
  • The practice proactively sought feedback from staff and patients, which it acted on. The patient participation group was active.
  • There was a focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 12 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 8 June 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.