You are here

Drs. Ramasamy & Nannithamby Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Drs. Ramasamy and Nannithamby on 28 January 2016. The overall rating for the practice was good. The full comprehensive report on the January 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Drs. Ramasamy and Nannithamby on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was a desk-based review carried out on 11 April 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 28 January 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

At the inspection on 28 January 2016, the practice was rated overall as ‘good’. However, within the key question safe, an area was identified as ‘requires improvement’, as the practice was not meeting the legislation around the proper and safe management of medicines. The practice was issued a requirement notice under Regulation 12, Safe care and treatment.

At the January 2016 inspection we found risks to patients were assessed and well managed,with the exception of those relating to the administration of vaccines.

Other areas identified where the practice was advised they should make improvements included:

  • Update the contact details contained within the safeguarding children policy to match those displayed in reception and in all rooms.

The practice supplied an action plan and a range of documents which demonstrated they are now meeting the requirements of Regulation 12, Safe care and treatment, of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The practice also demonstrated improvement in the other area identified in the report from January 2016 which did not affect ratings. These improvements have been documented in the safe section, showing how the registered person has demonstrated continuous improvement since the full inspection.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

At the inspection in January 2016, we found an area of concern in relation to the administration of vaccines. One other area identified at the inspection for improvement was the need to update the contact details contained within the safeguarding children policy to match those displayed in reception and in all rooms.

During this inspection we found that the provider had put in place a system for the production of written Patient Specific Directions (PSDs) permitting healthcare assistants to administer vaccines, and had updated the contact details in the practice’s safeguarding children policy.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Caring

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing well-led services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Older people

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 4 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection in January 2016. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/search/services/doctors-gps