You are here

Ilkley and Wharfedale Medical Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This practice is rated as Good overall. The previous inspection, carried out on 24 November 2015 rated the practice as Good overall.

The key questions are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Good

Are services well-led? - Good

As part of our inspection process, we also look at the quality of care for specific population groups. The population groups are rated as:

Older People – Good

People with long-term conditions – Good

Families, children and young people – Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students) – Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable – Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) - Good

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Ilkley and Wharfedale Medical Practice on 28 February 2018. We carried out this inspection as part of our inspection programme.

At this inspection we found:

  • There was an open and transparent approach to safety and clear systems were in place for recognising, reporting and learning from incidents.
  • Staff were aware of current evidence based guidance. Staff had received appropriate training to provide them with the necessary skills and knowledge to deliver effective care and treatment.
  • Results from the national GP patient survey were consistently high. We saw that patient satisfaction in relation to access to appointments, and for receiving compassionate care was higher than local and national averages across all areas. We heard that people were respected and valued, empowered as partners in their care, and that a holistic personalised service was routinely provided for patients.
  • Patients had access to a named GP. There was continuity of care, with urgent and non-urgent appointments available the same day.
  • There was evidence of a cohesive team with a clear leadership structure in the practice. Staff were aware of their roles and responsibilities. Staff told us they felt supported in their roles.
  • The practice performed well in relation to cervical, breast and bowel cancer screening. Childhood immunisation uptake stood at 100%.
  • The practice regularly reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care provided.
  • We saw evidence that the practice performed consistently better than other practices in the Clinical Commissioning Group area in relation to non-elective hospital admissions and accident and emergency attendances.
  • We observed staff treating patients with kindness and compassion. The practice had good facilities and was equipped to treat patients and meet their needs.

The area where the provider should make improvements is:

  • Review and improve their responses to complaints so that they always include the details of the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 29 March 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 29 March 2018