You are here

Shepperton Medical Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 June 2018

This practice is rated as Good overall. (Previous inspection October 2017 – Good)

The key questions are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Good

Are services well-led? - Good

We carried out an announced focused inspection at Shepperton Medical Practice on 12 October 2017, to follow up on breaches of regulations identified at our inspection in December 2016. At our previous inspection, December 2016, we rated the practice requires improvement for providing safe, effective and well-led services and good for caring and responsive services.

When we undertook a follow up inspection of the service on 12 October 2017 we found arrangements in safe and effective had significantly improved. However, the arrangements in well-led had not improved sufficiently and we issued a warning notice in respect of these issues. The details of these can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Shepperton Medical Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

At this inspection we found:

  • The practice had addressed the concerns that were identified at our previous inspections and was compliant with the requirements of the warning notice.
  • The practice had clear systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP
Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 June 2018

We rated the practice good for providing well-led services.

At our previous inspection on 12 October 2017, we rated the practice requires improvement for providing well-led services as the arrangements in respect of governance, such as identifying, recording and managing risk,

were not sufficient.

The details of these

can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Shepperton Medical Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

.

We issued a warning notice in respect of these issues and at this inspection on 10 May 2018 we found arrangements had significantly improved.

Governance arrangements

There were clear responsibilities, roles and systems of accountability to support good governance and management.

  • Structures, processes and systems to support good governance and management were clearly set out, understood and effective.
  • Practice leaders had established proper policies, procedures and activities to ensure safety and assured themselves that they were operating as intended.

Managing risks, issues and performance

There were clear and effective processes for managing risks, issues and performance.

  • There was an effective process to identify, understand, monitor and address current and future risks including risks to patient safety.

Please refer to the Evidence Tables for further information.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 8 December 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and effectiveness identified at our inspection on 14 December 2016. However, some concerns regarding identifying and managing risk in well-led had not been resolved. These applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.