You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 June 2019

We carried out an announced focused inspection at Severnbank Surgery on 8 May 2019. This inspection was undertaken to follow up on the breaches of Regulations identified at our previous inspections on 2 and 9 October 2018, and 24 January 2019.

On 2 October 2018 we carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Severnbank Surgery as part of our inspection programme. We revisited the practice again on the 9 October 2018 to gather some additional information. We found there were breaches in the regulations relating to safe care and treatment, receiving and acting on complaints and good governance. Following this inspection, we sent the practice a Warning Notice setting out why they were failing to meet the regulations relating to safe care and treatment and requiring them to become compliant with this regulation by 31 January 2019.

We undertook a follow up inspection on the 24 January 2019 to check that the provider had implemented the actions they told us they would take, to become compliant with the Warning Notice in relation to safe care and treatment. Although the practice had addressed most of the issues, we found the new systems and processes were not yet fully embedded. We served the practice a Requirement Notice in relation to Regulation 12 of the Health and Social Care Act (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

The full report of the October 2018 and January 2019 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Severnbank Surgery on our website at

This report covers the announced follow up comprehensive inspection we carried out at Severnbank Surgery on 8 May 2019, to review the actions taken by the practice to improve the quality of care and to confirm that the practice was meeting legal requirements in relation to safe care and treatment, receiving and acting on complaints and good governance.

At this inspection we found the practice had made significant changes and improvements to their systems and processes, and actions had been implemented to address the failings we identified at our previous inspections. For example, we found:

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good