You are here

Dr R. Samuel and Dr S. Khan Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr R. Samuel and Dr S. Khan on 12 January 2017. The overall rating for the practice was good but there were areas the practice should improve for providing responsive services. The full comprehensive report on the 12 January 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr R. Samuel and Dr S. Khan on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 29 October 2018 to assess whether the provider had improved in the areas that we identified in our previous inspection. This report covers our findings in relation to improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • Emergency equipment was fit for use and appropriate ongoing checks were undertaken.
  • Cervical screening uptake rates were monitored, had improved and were comparable to local and national averages. For example, during the reporting year 2016 to 2017 the practice percentage of women aged 25-64 that had a cervical screening test was 58% compared to 64% in the local Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and 72% nationally; and during the reporting year 2017 to 2018 this had increased to 72% compared to 78% in the CCG and 81% nationally.
  • The practice percentage of prescriptions for co-amoxiclav, cephalosporins and quinolones of the total number of prescriptions for selected antibacterial drugs was above average at 16% compared to 10% in the CCG and 9% which was a negative variation. (Co-amoxiclav, cephalosporins and quinolones are antibiotics that can be used when others have failed. It is important that they are used sparingly, to avoid drug-resistant bacteria developing.)
  • The practice monitored national GP patient survey results including patient satisfaction on phone access and on how nurses treated patients with care and concern which had improved and were in line with local and national averages. For example, the practice most recent GP patient survey results published in August 2018 showed the percentage of patients who stated the healthcare professional was good or very good at treating them with care and concern was 82% compared to 80% in the CCG and 87% nationally.
  • The practice won a 2018 Newham Health Collaborative Primary Care Oscar award for the practice with the most staff friendly environment. The Newham Health Collaborative is a local GP led partnership focusing on delivering excellent heath and care.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Review and improve prescribing of co-amoxiclav, cephalosporins and quinolones.
  • Continue to embed and improve patients access.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 November 2018

At our previous inspection 12 January 2017, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing responsive services due to below average patient satisfaction regarding telephone access; 32% of patients said they could get through easily to the practice by phone compared to the national average of 73% and we told the practice it should improve.

At this inspection 29 October 2018 we found arrangements for patient’s telephone access and associated levels of patient satisfaction were improving.

Timely access to care and treatment

Patients were able to access care and treatment from the practice within an acceptable timescale for their needs.

  • The practice had implemented and evaluated several actions to improve patient access since our previous inspection and was continuing to do so, including patients online access and increasing desk space and staffing to answer telephones.
  • The practice national GP patient survey satisfaction results regarding telephone access had improved from 32% in 2017, to 45% in 2018. Additional sources of recent patient feedback indicated patients access had improved including CQC patient comment cards, the practice in-house survey results, and NHS Choices patient feedback which was four out of five stars.
  • The practice had a website and offered online appointment booking and prescription requests through the online national patient access system.

Please refer to the evidence tables for further information.

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Older people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good