You are here

Parkside Family Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of Parkside Family Practice on 27 April 2016. The practice was rated requires improvement for safe, responsive and well led services and good for effective and caring services. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. We undertook a focussed follow up inspection on 20 January 2017 to review the previous breaches of regulation identified at the April 2016 inspection. The practice was rated requires improvement for providing safe and well led services as insufficient improvements had been made. The full comprehensive report and follow up reports can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Parkside Family Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 27 September 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 20 January 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had reviewed their processes and procedures for maintaining the cold chain.Fridge temperature recording logs were completed daily and breaches identified and escalated appropriately.
  • Emergency medicines and equipment had been reviewed and risk assessed to ensure the practice met the needs of its population.

The practice is now rated as good for providing safe and well led services. Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

At our previous inspection on 20 January 2017 we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services. The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

  • Emergency medicines had been reviewed and risk assessed to ensure the practice was meeting the needs of its population.
  • Fridge temperature recording logs were completed daily and any breaches of the cold chain were quickly identified. Appropriate action was taken to ensure vaccines were stored at the correct temperature.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

At our previous inspection on 20 January 2017 we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing well led services. The practice is now rated as good for providing well led services.

  • Governance arrangements had been reviewed to ensure emergency medicines and equipment reflected best practice guidance.
  • The cold chain policy had been reviewed and fridge temperature logs were now monitored to ensure the safety and efficacy of vaccines was maintained.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 20 October 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safety and well-led identified at our inspection on 20 January 2017 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.