You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Abbey Wood Surgery on 25 October 2017 and rated the practice as good overall and requires improvement in the caring key question.

The reports of all the previous inspections can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Abbey Wood Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced comprehensive inspection which we undertook on 13 March 2019 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the issues identified in our previous inspection on 25 October 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements.

We found that the practice had made improvements and is rated as good overall.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • The service had good systems to manage risk so that safety incidents were less likely to happen. When they did happen, the service learned from them and improved their processes.
  • The provider routinely reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care provided.
  • Care and treatment was delivered according to evidence-based guidelines.
  • Staff involved and treated people with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect. The service was acutely aware of the sensitivities around patient confidentiality, and this was taken seriously, with associated policies in place.
  • Patients were able to access care and treatment from the service within an appropriate timescale for their needs.
  • There was a strong focus on continuous learning and improvement at all levels of the organisation.
  • Results from the national GP patient survey showed that the practice was above the local average for patients who felt listened to or involved in decisions about their care.
  • Information about services and how to complain was available.
  • The practice’s uptake for cervical screening was below the coverage target for the national screening programme.

There were areas where the practice could make improvements and should:

  • Continue to take steps to increase cervical cancer screening uptake rates.
  • Review process of read coding patients to ensure registers are maintained and monitored effectively.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Effective

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Older people

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Requires improvement

Updated 10 May 2019

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 10 May 2019

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 10 May 2019