You are here

Jai Medical Centre (Brent) Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 January 2021

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Jai Medical Centre (Brent) on 1 October 2019. The overall rating for the practice was inadequate, it was placed into special measures and warning notices were issued. We carried out an announced follow up inspection on 13 March 2020 and found that the practice had made sufficient improvements and that the warning notices had been met.

The full comprehensive reports on the November 2019 and March 2020 inspections can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Jai Medical Centre (Brent) on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

We took account of the exceptional circumstances arising as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic when considering how we carried out this inspection. We therefore undertook some of the inspection process remotely and spent less time on site. We conducted medical record searches on 25 November 2020, remote staff interviews on 2 December 2020 and a site visit on 3 December 2020.

At this inspection we visited the Stag Lane site. We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • What we found when we inspected
  • Information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services, and
  • Information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

We have rated this practice as good overall and good for the older people, people with long term conditions, families, children and young people, vulnerable pople and people experiencing poor mental health (including dementia) population groups.

We found that:

  • The practice provided care in a way that kept patients safe and protected them from avoidable harm.
  • Patients received effective care and treatment that met their needs.
  • Staff dealt with patients with kindness and respect and involved them in decisions about their care.
  • The practice organised and delivered services to meet patients’ needs. Patients could access care and treatment in a timely way.
  • The way the practice was led and managed promoted the delivery of high-quality, person-centre care.

We rated the working age population group as requires improvement due to the poor uptake for the cervical screening programme.

Whilst we found no breaches of regulations, the provider should:

  • Continue to look at ways to improve uptake for the childhood immunisation and cervical screening programmes.
  • Ensure calcium testing is up to date.
  • Consider updating risk assessment templates to show target and completion dates for actions identified.

I am taking this service out of special measures. This recognises the significant improvements that have been made to the quality of care provided by this service.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Older people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Requires improvement

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good