You are here

Dr A Palmer & Dr G Lovelock Good Also known as Barlborough Medical Practice

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 October 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr A Palmer & Dr J Gardner on 21 February 2018. The overall rating for the practice was ‘Good’, however, the practice was rated ‘Requires improvement’ for providing safe services. We asked the practice to develop an action plan to address the areas of concern that were identified during our inspection.

The full comprehensive report can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr A Palmer & Dr J Gardner on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 10 October 2018 to review actions taken by the practice since our previous inspection in February 2018. This report covers our findings in relation to actions taken by the practice since our last inspection in the area of ‘Safe’.

Overall the practice remains rated as ‘Good’. The practice is now also rated ‘Good’ for providing safe services.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had reviewed and improved their processes for repeat prescribing and the management of high risk medicines.
  • The practice had reviewed and improved their processes for significant events, the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) alerts and near misses.
  • The practice had addressed previous issues identified relating to their dispensary.
  • The practice had improved their systems for ensuring emergency medicines and consumables were not used past their expiry date.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 23 March 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 23 March 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 23 March 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 23 March 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 23 March 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 23 March 2018