You are here

The Woodland Medical Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced focussed follow up inspection on 3 November 2016 to follow up on concerns we found at The Woodland Medical Practice on 25 February 2016. The inspection in November 2016 was to ensure that improvement had been made following our inspection in February 2016 when breaches of regulations had been identified. The inspection in February 2016 found breaches of regulation and rated the practice as requires improvement overall, specifically in safe and well-led services.

At the inspection on 3 November 2016 we found that overall the practice had implemented changes and that the service was meeting the requirements of the regulations. The ratings for the practice have been updated to reflect our findings following the improvements made since our last inspection in February 2016; the practice is now rated as good overall.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • The practice had in place and followed appropriate policies and guidance such as a cold chain policy and protocol.

  • The policies were practice specific and reflective of the requirements of the practice to enable them to carry out their roles in a safe and effective manner including resetting fridge temperatures on a daily basis.

  • The practice had robust systems and processes in place for safeguarding children, including implementation of and adherence to the practice’s ‘Safeguarding Children Action Plan'.

  • The practice had robust systems in place for monitoring patients and the quality of care, including the implementation of and adherence to the practice’s ‘improvement plan for GSF meetings’ and their ‘shared care prescribing’ plan.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

Our last inspection in February 2016 identified concerns relating to safeguarding and the cold chain process.

At this inspection we saw the concerns had been addressed:

  • The practice had clearly defined and embedded systems, processes and practices in place to keep patients safe and safeguarded from abuse.

  • Arrangements for maintaining the cold chain were robust.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

Caring

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is now rated as good for providing well-led services.

Our last inspection in February 2016 identified concerns relating to multi-disciplinary meetings and a lack of oversight and awareness regarding safeguarding children.

At this inspection we saw the concerns had been addressed

  • Multi-disciplinary meetings were taking place quarterly for safeguarding and palliative meetings.

  • The practice had a good awareness of safeguarding and had developed the policy and protocol for the identification of patients at risk.
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

Older people

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students).

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 22 December 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.