You are here

Archived: Irlam Group Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 June 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Irlam Group Practice on 1 December 2017. The overall rating for the practice was good with safe as requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the December 2017 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Irlam Group Practice on our website at .

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 18 May 2018 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 1 December 2017. In addition to the breaches, we identified an area where the practice should make improvements. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also the additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice remains rated as Good and ‘safe’ is now also rated as Good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice ensured that pre-employment checks were carried out on new staff members which included Disclosure and Baring Service (DBS) checks for clinical staff.

The areas where the provider should make improvements are:

  • Update the recruitment policy to include the pre-employment check list.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 June 2018

At our previous inspection on 1 December 2017, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services as the arrangements in respect of pre-employment checks for newly appointed clinical employees were not effective.

These arrangements had significantly improved when we undertook a follow up inspection on 18 May 2018. The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

Safety systems and processes

  • The practice ensured that pre-employment checks were carried out on new staff members which included Disclosure and Baring Service (DBS) checks for clinical staff. The practice had a pre-employment check list in place which was completed before a new employee started working in the practice. However, the recruitment policy had not been updated to include the checklist.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Requires improvement

Updated 2 February 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 2 February 2018