You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

This is a focused inspection of HT Practice for two areas within the key question safe.

We found the practice now to be good in providing safe services. Overall, the practice is rated as good.

The practice was previously inspected on 17 April 2015. The inspection was a comprehensive inspection under the Health and Social Care Act 2008. At that inspection, the practice was rated good overall. However, within the key question safe, two areas were identified as requiring improvement, as the practice was not meeting the legislation at that time:

Regulation 19 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Fit and proper persons employed. We found that the registered person had not protected people against risk related to staff employed at the

registered location. This was in breach of regulation 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010, which corresponds to regulation 19 (1)(3)(a) of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

Regulation 17 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Good governance. We found the registered person had not protected people against the risk of inappropriate or unsafe care and treatment, by means of good governance. This was in breach of regulation 17(2)(a)(b) of the Health and

Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014.

During the inspection on 24 April 2017 we were provided with evidence which demonstrated HT Practice are now meeting the requirements of Regulation 17 and 19 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2010.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

In line with agreed timescales the practice supplied a range of documentary evidence to demonstrate how they had improved their practises in relation to the overview of safety systems and processes since the last inspection.

Evidence reviewed during the inspection included reviewing the updated recruitment and selection policy and procedure and sampling two personnel files. We reviewed the fire safety checks carried out at the Highland Surgery and reviewed processes to ensure single use equipment was in date.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Caring

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Older people

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working-age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 23 May 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspection on 17 April 2015. A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-544089164