You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We undertook this focused inspection of Ashcroft Surgery on 10 January 2017 for one area within the key question safe.

We found the practice to be good in providing safe services. Overall, the practice is rated as good.

The practice was previously inspected on 6 and 11 August 2015. The inspection was a comprehensive inspection under the Health and Social Care Act 2008. At that inspection, the practice was rated good overall. However, within the key question safe, overview of safety systems and processes was identified as requires improvement, as the practice was not meeting the legislation at that time; Regulation 15 Health & Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014: Premises and equipment.

  • The registered person did not ensure all aspects of the practice were cleaned at appropriate intervals, and that the cleaning schedule reflected the needs of the practice.

On this inspection we reviewed a range of documents and inspected the premises which demonstrated they were now meeting the requirements of Regulation 15 Health & Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014: Premises and equipment.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

On inspection we reviewed documentary evidence and inspected the premises to demonstrate how they had improved their practices in relation to the overview of safety systems and processes since the last inspection.

Evidence we reviewed included information on cleaning schedules and checks.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624 

Caring

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing caring services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for providing responsive services.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Older people

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working-age people (including those recently retired and students).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia).

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 25 January 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable.

This rating was given following the comprehensive inspections of 6 and 11 August 2015 A copy of the full report following this inspection is available on our website:

http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-542882624