You are here

Dr R D Gilmore and Partners Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 June 2021

We carried out an announced review of Dr R D Gilmore and Partners on 26 May 2021. Overall, the practice is rated as Good.

Dr R D Gilmore was inspected on 15 March 2018 and rated as good overall, and requires improvement for providing well led services. A follow up inspection 8 November 2018, rated the practice as good for providing well led services and the practice remained good overall. However, the practice was rated as requires improvement for providing services to people within the population group of long-term conditions.

The full reports for previous inspections can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr R D Gilmore and Partners on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Why we carried out this review.

This was a follow-up review of concerns identified during the last inspection in November 2018.

The focus of this review was:

  • To review the services provided to people with long-term conditions and the outcomes for these patients using Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) performance.

How we carried out the inspection/review

Throughout the pandemic CQC has continued to regulate and respond to risk. However, taking into account the circumstances arising as a result of the pandemic, and in order to reduce risk, we have conducted our reviews differently.

This review was carried out off site. This was with consent from the provider and in line with all data protection and information governance requirements.

Our approach included:

  • Conducting staff interviews via tele-conference.
  • Reviewing performance data available at the time of our inspection.

Our findings

We based our judgement of the quality of care at this service on a combination of:

  • what we found when we inspected
  • information from our ongoing monitoring of data about services and
  • information from the provider, patients, the public and other organisations.

This practice remains rated as good overall. Following this focused review, we have rated the practice as good for providing care for the population group, long-term conditions.

We found that:

  • For those patients with long-term conditions; their needs were risk assessed, and care and treatment was delivered in line with current legislation, standards and evidence-based guidance supported by clear pathways and tools.
  • The practice continually reviewed and adjusted how it delivered services to meet the needs of patients with long-term conditions during the COVID-19 pandemic. Patients could access care and treatment in a timely way. Outcomes for patients with long-term conditions were comparable to local clinical commissioning group (CCG) and national averages.
  • Throughout the pandemic, patients with long-term conditions were recalled as appropriate. Patients were proactively contacted using text messages and latterly were contacted personally by healthcare assistants (HCAs) as the practice noted a positive response to this. Clinicians opportunistically used all patient contacts to carry out reviews.
  • Face-to-face appointments were offered when clinically necessary.
  • Focusing on healthy living principles, the practice worked in a multidisciplinary manner to ensure that patient needs were met. Working collaboratively with their local Primary Care Network (PCN) and utilising digital technologies, patients could access appointments with occupational therapists, social prescribers, dieticians and domestic violence workers. We were given an example of where, when safeguarding concerns were highlighted with a patient, a multi-disciplinary video conference was convened with relevant professionals within two hours.

Whilst we found no breaches of regulations, the provider should:

  • Continue to closely monitor personalised care adjustments for patients with diabetes.

Details of our findings and the evidence supporting our ratings are set out in the evidence tables.

Dr Rosie Benneyworth BM BS BMedSci MRCGP

Chief Inspector of Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Good

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 24 April 2018