You are here

Southgate Surgery Good Also known as Southgate Medical Group

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 October 2018

This practice is rated as Good overall. (Previous rating May 2018 – Good)

The key questions at this inspection are rated as:

Are services safe? – Good

Are services effective? – Good

Are services caring? – Good

Are services responsive? – Good

Are services well-led? - Good

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Southgate Surgery on 21 February 2018. The overall rating for the practice was good. The practice was also rated good for the effective, caring, responsive and well-led domains and all the population groups. However, it was rated as requires improvement for providing safe services. The full comprehensive report on the February 2018 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Southgate Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 18 September 2018 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 21 February 2018.

This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

At our inspection of 21 February 2018, we found that:

  • The provider had not ensured that accurate, complete and contemporaneous records were being maintained securely in respect of each service user. In particular: the contemporaneous patient’s records were not always up to date with patient information related to prescription changes.

At this inspection our key findings were as follows:

  • The provider had a system for recording and responding to changes made to patient medicine prescriptions by secondary care clinicians. Accurate records were maintained and supporting documentation was scanned into the patient record as soon as practicable.

Additionally we saw that:

  • The provider had a system in place for the collation of responses to Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) alerts and kept a central record that demonstrated the action taken. These were also discussed at practice meetings.

  • The provider continued to review access to the service via the telephone system. A new suite of messages had been recorded to improve information for callers advising them to call at different times to call for results and general enquiries so that the core early morning hours were free for urgent and appointment booking calls. The practice had worked with the telephone provider to assess peak calling times so that staff could be redeployed as necessary.

  • We were told that further work had been undertaken to provide additional appointments for under-fives. and additional minor illness appointments had been made available with increased capacity in the nursing team.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP
Chief Inspector of General Practice

Please refer to the detailed report and the evidence tables for further information.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 October 2018

We rated the practice as good for providing safe services.

At our previous inspection on 21 February 2018, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services as:

  • The provider had not ensured that accurate, complete and contemporaneous records were being maintained securely in respect of each service user. In particular: the contemporaneous patient’s records were not always up to date with patient information related to prescription changes.

These arrangements had significantly improved when we undertook a follow up inspection on 18 September 2018. The practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

Safe and appropriate use of medicines

We reviewed a sample of ten patient records who had changes to their medicines in the last three months following secondary care reviews. All the records we saw had a detailed summary of the changes and the rationale for these changes. These entries were supported with a scanned copy of the letter from the secondary care clinician.

Please refer to the evidence tables for further information.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Families, children and young people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good