You are here

The Rossington Practice Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this practice on 21 December 2015. Breaches of legal requirements were found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the regulatory breaches of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) 2014 Regulation 12 Safe care and treatment, Regulation 17 Good governance and Regulation 19 Fit and proper persons employed.

We undertook this focused inspection on 29 June 2016 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met the legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for The Rossington Practice on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Overall the practice is rated as Good.

Specifically,following the focused inspection we found the practice to be good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • All staff who acted as chaperones were trained for the role and had received a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check completed following our last inspection in December 2015.
  • We were shown the protocol for the safe storage and use of prescription pads implemented in January 2016. We observed blank prescription forms and pads were securely stored and there were systems in place to monitor their use and the protocol was being followed.
  • We were shown a copy of the Health and Safety policy which was implemented in January 2016. We were told by the practice manager that updated health and safety training was arranged for staff to complete in July 2016.

  • The practice had purchased a new defibrillator in January 2016 which was available on the premises and ready for use.
  • The practice had a reviewed its business continuity arrangements for major incidents such as power failure or building damage.
  • The practice had reviewed the information collected for the Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) and performance against national screening programmes to monitor and improve outcomes for patients. Improvements were demonstrated.

  • Staff had also reviewed outcomes for patients and there was evidence of quality improvement including clinical audit.
  • The practice had reviewed the overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This outlined the structures and procedures in place. We observed recruitment records were now organised and kept in a secure place.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

All staff who acted as chaperones were trained for the role and had received a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check completed following our last inspection in December 2015.

We were shown the protocol for the safe storage and use of prescription pads implemented in January 2016. We observed blank prescription forms and pads were securely stored and there were systems in place to monitor their use and the protocol was being followed.

We were shown a copy of the health and safety policy which was implemented in January 2016 and contained an author and a review date. We were told by the practice manager update health and safety training was arranged for staff to complete in July 2016.

The practice had purchased a new defibrillator in January 2016 which was available on the premises and ready to use.

The practice had a reviewed its business continuity arrangements for major incidents such as power failure or building damage.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for providing effective services.

The practice reviewed the information collected for the Quality and Outcomes Framework (QOF) and performance against national screening programmes to monitor and improve outcomes for patients.

  • Performance for diabetes related indicators had improved as 93% of the outcomes were met.
  • Performance for mental health related indicators had improved as the practice achieved all the outcomes available.

Staff had also reviewed outcomes for patients and there was evidence of quality improvement including clinical audit.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for being well-led.

The practice had reviewed the overarching governance framework which supported the delivery of the strategy and good quality care. This outlined the structures and procedures in place.

We observed recruitment records were now organised and kept in a secure place.  Policies and procedures had been updated and were available to staff.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long term conditions as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

Older people

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students) as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia) as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 25 July 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable as it is rated as good for providing safe, effective and well-led services.