You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Whitwell Health Centre on 18 December 2017. The overall rating for the practice was ‘good’, however, the practice was rated as ‘requires improvement’ for providing safe services. The practice was asked to develop an action plan to address the areas of concern that were identified during our inspection.

The full comprehensive report can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Whitwell Health Centre on our website at

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 24 October 2018 to review actions taken by the practice since our previous inspection in December 2017. This report covers our findings in relation to actions taken by the practice since our last inspection in respect of the ‘Are services safe?’ domain.

Overall the practice remains rated as ‘good’. The practice is now also rated ‘good’ for providing safe services.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had reviewed and improved their processes when alerts were received from the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Authority (MHRA).
  • Patient experience in respect of GP consultations had improved. This was demonstrated by the practice achieving results in line with local and national averages in the latest national GP patient survey published in July 2018. In addition, the practice was monitoring this through their own internal survey, and training had been sourced for clinicians to enhance their consultation skills.
  • The practice had considered formal succession planning, and had appointed a clinical practitioner to work at the practice four days each week, since our previous inspection.
  • We saw that clinical and non-clinical staff training was up to date, and in accordance with the practice’s own mandatory training schedule.
  • The prescribing of high-risk medicines was monitored closely supported by regular patient searches on the computer system, with evidence of follow-up actions that were documented.
  • The practice had implemented a more structured approach to a quality improvement programme.
  • Written protocols were available for reception staff, including dealing with medical emergencies.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 November 2018

At our previous inspection on 18 December 2017, we rated the practice as ‘requires improvement’ for providing safe services as the systems for managing MHRA alerts did not always minimise risks. Training records showed that not all staff were up to date with the practice’s own mandatory training schedule. Written protocols were not available for reception staff, for example in dealing with medical emergencies. The practice had limited evidence of a quality improvement programme to provide assurance that processes were reviewed and improved if this was necessary. In addition, there was limited evidence of succession planning in order to minimise any future potential risks to continuity of care for patients.

These areas had improved when we undertook an announced focused inspection on 24 October 2018. The practice is now rated as ‘good’ for providing safe services.

Risks to patients

  • The practice had reviewed succession planning arrangements and had developed a written five-year business development plan. Since our last inspection, a clinical practitioner had commenced working at the practice creating more options and better access for patients. The practice was also looking ahead and considering the potential for further skill mix, such as a clinical pharmacist role.
  • A selection of written protocols had been implemented for reception staff which included information on how to respond to medical emergencies including chest pain, sepsis and stroke.

Information to deliver safe care and treatment

  • The practice was able to demonstrate that a quality improvement programme was in place. We saw evidence of protocols being introduced for high-risk medicines, and these were monitored via a programme of ongoing audit.
  • The practice provided evidence of a programme of clinical audit, which was taking place to review services in line with best practice.
  • Training identified as mandatory by the practice was observed to be up to date.

Lessons learned and improvements made

  • The practice acted on and learned from external safety events as well as patient and medicine safety alerts.

Please refer to the evidence tables for further information.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Older people

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 23 February 2018

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 23 February 2018