• Doctor
  • GP practice

Pennine Drive Practice

Overall: Good

6-8 Pennine Drive, Cricklewood, London, NW2 1PA (020) 8455 9977

Provided and run by:
Pennine Drive Practice

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Background to this inspection

Updated 5 June 2017

Pennine Drive Surgery is located in Cricklewood in the London Borough of Barnet. It is one of the 62 member GP practices in NHS Barnet CCG. The practice holds a General Medical Services contract (an agreement between NHS England and general practices for delivering general medical services). The practice provides enhanced services for example, adult and child immunisations, extended hours, unplanned admissions and facilitating timely diagnosis and support for people with Dementia.

The practice is registered with the Care Quality Commission to carry on the regulated activities of Treatment of disease, disorder or injury; Diagnostic and screening procedures, family planning; Maternity and midwifery services and surgical procedures.

The practice had approximately 8,750 registered patients at the time of our inspection.

The staff team at the practice includes four partner GP’s (one male and three female) working both full and part time hours. The practice clinical team also includes two salaried GP’s (male), and three part time practice nurses (female), and one health care assistant (female). The practice has twelve staff in its administrative team; including a practice manager. All staff work a mix of full time and part time hours.

There are 35 weekly GP sessions available and 13 weekly nurse sessions.

The practice’s clinical hours are:

Morning Afternoon

Monday        9.00am to 1.00pm        2.00pm to 6.30pm

Tuesday       9.00am to 1.00pm        2.00pm to 6.30pm

Wednesday  9.00am to 1.00pm        2.00pm to 6.00pm

Thursday      9.00am to 1.00pm        2.00pm to 6.30pm

Friday           9.00am to 1.00pm        2.00pm to 6.00pm

Saturday      Closed

Sunday        Closed

The practice runs extended hours on a Monday and Thursday from 6.30pm to 8.30pm and one Thursday a month from 6.30pm to 9.30pm.

Urgent appointments are available each day and GPs also complete telephone consultations for patients. In addition the practice is a participant of the Pan Barnet federated GP’s network: a federation of local Barnet GP practice’s which was set up locally to provide appointments for patients at eight local hub practice’s between 8am and 8pm; providing additional access out of hours. There is also an-out of hour’s service provided to cover the practice when it is closed. If patients call the practice when it is closed, an answerphone message gives the telephone number they should ring depending on their circumstances. Information on the out-of-hours service is provided to patients on the practice leaflet as well as through posters and leaflets available at the practice.

The practice has the same average percentage of people with a long standing health conditions as the national average (54%). At 82 years, male life expectancy is above than the England average of 81 years. At 85 years, female life expectancy is above the England average of 83 years.

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Pennine Drive Surgery on 27 July 2016. The overall rating for the practice was good with safe rated as requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Pennine Drive Surgery our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This focused inspection was carried out on 10 May 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breach in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 27 July 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • PGD’s (Patient Group Directions) had been reviewed, signed and authorised in accordance with local and national guidelines for all nurses administering medicines at the practice.

  • Training records including copies of all mandatory training conducted by staff outside of the practice had been maintained in staff records

  • The practice had made further progress in developing quality outcome audits to ensure they were reflecting improvements over time.

  • The practice had developed arrangements for monitoring the use of prescription pads in accordance with national NHS guidelines.

  • Arrangements for staff appraisal had been reviewed to ensure that staff received an annual appraisal of their performance. The new system ensured that staff had their learning and development needs identified, planned and supported.

  • The practice had progressed plans to audit patient consent to ensure consent recording practices were robust throughout the practice.

At our previous inspection on 27 July 2016, we rated the practice as requires improvement for providing safe services as the practice had failed to ensure that PGD’s (Patient Group Directions) were reviewed, signed and authorised in accordance with local and national guidelines for all nurses administering medicines at the practice (a Patient Group Direction (PGD) is a written instruction for the sale, supply and/or administration of medicines to groups of patients who may not be individually identified before presentation for treatment). At this inspection we found arrangements for PGD’s were robust and reflective of local and national guidelines. Consequently, the practice is rated as good for providing safe services.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for people with long term conditions. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Older people

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 5 June 2017

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this did not affect the rating for the population groups we inspect against.