You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at King George Surgery on 1 December 2015. A breach of legal requirements was found. After the comprehensive inspection, the practice wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to;

  • Regulation 17 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Good Governance

We undertook a desk based focused inspection of King George Surgery on 16 September 2016 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting 'all reports' link for King George Surgery on our website at www.cqc.org.uk/

From the inspection on 1 December 2015, the practice were told they must:

  • Strengthen governance structures to ensure these are effective and enable the provider to identify, assess and mitigate risks for example in relation to whether the practice manager should have a Disclosure and Barring check and by completing a risk assessment in respect of having a defibrillator on the premises.

We found that on the 16 September 2016 the practice now had appropriate risk assessments in place.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Effective

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Caring

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

At our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, a breach of legal requirements was found. Improvements were needed in relation to risk assessments and mitigating actions in particular in relation to whether a

Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check

for the practice manager was required and for the absence of a defibrillator on the premises. During our desk based focused inspection on 16 September 2016 we found the practice had taken action and the practice is now rated as good for providing well-led services.

The necessary risk assessments had been completed and documented with appropriate actions taken. Mitigating actions were identified where necessary.

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of people with long-term conditions people. We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of families, children and young people. We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.

Older people

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of older people. We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of working age people (including those recently retired and students). We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia). We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 2 November 2016

Following our comprehensive inspection on 1 December 2015, we rated the practice as good for the population group of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. We did not review any evidence during our desk based focussed inspection to alter this rating.