You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 September 2020

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Croft Medial Centre on 11 February 2019 as part of our inspection programme. The overall rating for the practice was Good. The full comprehensive report on the February 2019 inspection can be found on our website at

www.cqc.org.uk

.

We carried out a desk-based review on 11 August 2020 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to make the improvements we had identified in our previous inspection on 11 February 2019. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is rated as Good.

At our previous inspection we found that:

  • improvements were required to ensure the keys to the controlled drugs cabinet were kept secure because there was a significant risk that controlled drugs could have been accessed by unauthorised people. The practice confirmed they had rectified this. A digital lock had been installed to store the dispensary keys and the practice ensured that only dispensary staff and the duty doctor had access to these.
  • a review of the confidentiality of the reception area and the dispensary was needed. Confidential areas for patients accessing the reception and dispensary areas had now been facilitated.
  • the appointment system and telephone access for patients needed to be kept under review to improve patient satisfaction. The practice confirmed that a clinical pharmacist had been appointed to help with workloads and improve access to GPs for patients with more complex needs, and that they needed to keep access to appointments under review. However, we are mindful that the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on practices has brought about enforced changes to the way patients access appointments.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 September 2020

We rated the practice as requires improvement in February 2019 for providing safe services as, at the time of the inspection the key to the controlled drugs cabinet was not kept in a secure place during the day. As a result, there was a significant risk that controlled drugs could have been accessed by unauthorised people. The practice had rectified this following the inspection, ordering and installing a key safe.

As part of our inspection monitoring process we completed an Annual Regulatory Review for Croft Medical Centre on 19th February 2020. We discussed the action the practice had taken to address the improvements required at the previous inspection.

Croft Medical Centre demonstrated they had implemented the following:

  • Improved the security of the dispensary. They had installed a digital lock device to store the dispensary keys and ensured that only dispensary staff and the duty doctor had access to these. A lock had also been installed to the dispensary internal door.
  • The practice had also improved patient confidentiality within the dispensary area. The door between the dispensary and the waiting area provided a confidential quiet area for dispensing and for speaking with patients. Notices were also in place offering a private consulting room to patients.

As part of this desk-based review the practice confirmed that these arrangements had continued to provide the level of security required and as a result the practice is now rated as good for providing safe services.

Effective

Good

Caring

Good

Responsive

Outstanding

Well-led

Good
Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Outstanding

Families, children and young people

Good

Older people

Good

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Outstanding