You are here

Archived: Midland Smile Centres - Handsworth

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 4 August 2016

We carried out a focussed follow-up inspection on 5 July 2016 to check the practice had achieved compliance following our inspection of 30 January 2015. We concentrated on the following key question: Are services safe?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Our key findings were:

  • Patients could be assured the practice was carrying out robust recruitment checks on new members of staff.
  • The practice had the necessary equipment for staff to deal with medical emergencies, and staff had been trained how to use that equipment. This included an automated external defibrillator, oxygen and emergency medicines.
  • There were systems in place to record accidents, significant events and complaints, and where learning points were identified these were shared with staff.
  • There was a comprehensive business continuity plan to help staff if an emergency occurred such as a failure in the electricity supply.
  • The practice had a lead person for safeguarding children and vulnerable adults. All staff had received relevant training in safeguarding to help protect patients.

Staff were flushing dental waterlines to prevent bacterial growth and risk to patients.

Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 4 August 2016

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had introduced systems and processes to record and manage accidents, complaints and significant events.

All staff had received up-to-date training in safeguarding vulnerable adults and children. There were clear guidelines for reporting concerns and the practice had a lead member of staff to offer support and guidance over safeguarding matters. Staff knew how to recognise the signs of abuse, and how to raise concerns when necessary.

The practice had a business continuity plan to guide staff when there were threats to the delivery of the service.

The practice had emergency medicines and oxygen available, and an automated external defibrillator (AED). Regular checks were being completed to ensure the emergency equipment was in good working order.

Effective

No action required

Updated 4 August 2016

<Findings here>

Caring

No action required

Updated 4 August 2016

<Findings here>

Responsive

No action required

Updated 4 August 2016

<Findings here>

Well-led

No action required

Updated 4 August 2016

<Findings here>