You are here

Archived: Dr Ravi Sharma Good Also known as St Peter's Medical Practice

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection at Dr Ravi Sharma on 1 September 2016. The overall rating for the practice was requires improvement. The full comprehensive report on the September 2016 inspection can be found by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Dr Ravi Sharma on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

This inspection was an announced focused inspection carried out on 21 March 2017 to confirm that the practice had carried out their plan to meet the legal requirements in relation to the breaches in regulations that we identified in our previous inspection on 1 September 2016. This report covers our findings in relation to those requirements and also additional improvements made since our last inspection.

Overall the practice is now rated as good.

Our key findings were as follows:

  • The practice had implemented a procedure for the monitoring and management of high risk medication and patients receiving.

  • The practice had clinical meetings in place with the nurse, GP and the long term locum.

  • The practice had an improvement plan including clinical audits.

Professor Steve Field (CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP) 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

At the inspection in September 2016 we found that the practice processes for prescribing high risk medication and monitoring was not in place or being monitored formally.

The practice had taken appropriate action and is now rated good for the provision of safe services.

  • At this recent inspection we found that the practice had implemented a process for prescribing high risk medication and monitoring was in place.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

At the inspection in September 2016 the practice were not able to demonstrate quality improvement. Clinical audits were limited and there was no audit plan in place. The practice clinical team did not have meetings to ensure information was shared and patients were discussed.

The practice had taken appropriate action and is now rated good for the provision of effective services.

  • The practice had an audit plan for the year.

  • We looked at four completed two cycle audits that the practice had undertaken. One of these had been undertaken following a significant event that the practice had completed. The audits showed improvement in processes and in prescribing.

  • The practice had clinical team meetings which had been in place since November 2016 and we reviewed four sets of minutes. The meeting minutes showed that the clinical team including the practice nurse and the long term locum were discussing patients that needed to be discussed and sharing information such as recent guidance and audits completed.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

Checks on specific services

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Older people

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 20 April 2017

The provider had resolved the concerns for safe and effective identified at our inspection on 1 September 2016 which applied to everyone using this practice, including this population group. The population group ratings have been updated to reflect this.